Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarInterviewsFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
Stay Connected

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) 963578843666749.3281.984305707
_
September 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
CalendarCalendar

Share
 

 Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Judge Redd

Judge Redd

Posts : 902
Join date : 2014-03-12
Age : 26
Location : Ireland

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty
PostSubject: Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)   Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) EmptySat Oct 21, 2017 9:33 pm


Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) 9f26f810

Greetings Readers
On this month of Halloween, we all enjoy the gift of horror and what it brings to our lives. This is the time of year I love the most, as it is a time when we all let our darker sides shine. Today, I bring you a review of a recent movie, released just yesterday on Netflix based on a story from the Master of Horror himself Stephen King. Directed by Zak Hilditch, allow me to introduce all you wonderful Spooks and Banshee's to "1922":


Genre: This movie is a wonderful Psychological horror from the mind of the great horror writer himself, Stephen King. It is a very Greek like tale that shows how much greed can affect people, but not greed for money exclusively. I was very happy when I finished watching this, because this is the third Stephen King adaption that has come out in the last month, and finally the third that Thomas Jane has appeared in.

Basic Plot: A simple but proud rancher recounts the year of 1922, when he plotted to murder his wife and convince his teenage son to help him with the deed.

Blood and Gore: This movie does not go overboard with the blood or the gore, but they are still present in the film. However, this does not make this a bad movie, as it actually feels more real as a result of no over the top violence or wall to wall bloodbaths. However, the things we do see can be rather disgusting and disturbing.

Kills: As this is a new movie, I don’t want to spoil this for anyone so I am intentionally leaving out Kills.

Setting: This movie takes place on Wilfred’s farm for the majority of the movie, as this is the setting of his downfall and his misdeeds, as well as the thing he grows to fear the most. We see the movie go through the seasons that coincides with the downfall of Wilfred. As the movie goes on it gets bleaker and bleaker, which in a contradictory way makes it very enjoyable.

How it Racks up: In the last month, we have seen 3 Stephen King books adapted into film, two by Netflix. Having watched all three of these, I have to say that each of them, are brilliantly made and excellent horror adaptions. Each of them deals with different themes and horrors, which make them all very enjoyable. Following the tour de force that is IT becoming the highest grossing Horror film of all time, and Gerald’s Game which gave us a trip into oncoming insanity, I found myself worried that maybe asking for 3 out of 3 great adaptions was too much. With the failure of Dark Tower, and the infrequency of GOOD Stephen King adaptions (either they are done right, or they are done wrong, there are very few exceptions), I found myself questioning whether or not this was going to be worth getting my hopes up for. However, I am happy to admit I was wrong. 1922 is up there with some of the great Stephen King Adaptation’s, with good acting, a good script, chilling moments, and enough unsettling scenes that will remind you why King is known as the Master of Horror. 1922 is a slow burning movie that if you give the time to, you will not regret it.

Overall Mark: 8.5/10
This is a great movie that has the Stephen King feel to it. While its not supernatural, it deals with demons of a different kind. The kind that haunt us in times of doubt or darkness. No matter how you like your horror, I can promise you you will not regret watching this movie. Unless you have something against Rats.

This movie is Rated R for disturbing horror imagery, and some scenes people might find disturbing.


If you happen to have any movie you wish for me to review, put it below. I read all comments, and take all recommendations into consideration.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cerruti

Cerruti

Posts : 1295
Join date : 2016-12-07
Age : 41
Location : France

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)   Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) EmptySun Oct 22, 2017 1:22 pm

Here is a film on which I wanted a return, to know if he was good.

The main actor, Thomas Jane, whom I rediscovered in a good series Netflix - The Expanse, makes me want to follow this story, since I really liked his acting in the series.

I hope not to be disappointed by this film because as often Stephen King's books have not always been cinematic masterpieces.

I'm sure of one thing .... it's a movie to see  in its original language, because the voice of Thomas Jane goes very well to the character psychologically tortured (or not).

A good discovery that I hope to confirm during his viewing, thank you for the work @ZombieRedNeck

_________________
Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Gunetx11
Back to top Go down
View user profile
August Underground

August Underground

Posts : 462
Join date : 2017-09-16
Age : 24
Location : Romania

Character sheet
Name: Eme
Faction: Dahmerize Me
Level: gethelp.jpeg

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)   Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) EmptyFri Nov 10, 2017 10:44 am

It looks like that Stephen King is the only posible writer to get movies based on his books (at least this year). Very good atmosphere and interpretation in general. Despite having a serious lack of horror and being more dramatic than anything, it is very acceptable inside what we are used to when Stephen Kings novels are adapted to a movie.

Now, the movie is excessively and unnecessary long, long and super long. for what it is trying to tell the audience, a pretty well known story about repentance and ghosts of the past that makes someone loose his mind and get dragged literally to hell and to his own self destruction. Seriously, 100 minutes? It should have been 30 o 40 minutes long at most. I was hoping for a supernatural thriller, but after watching it i think this is more psychological stuff.

If you read the book you'll know that the plot is not that original, and the only things the worth highlight are the atmosphere and one or two creepy image. You can like 1922 or you can get bored to death with 1922 (like me), but 1922 is a pretty decent movie in general. I'll give it a 6 as my final score.

_________________
Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) 5pEXPln
It seems that Lara forgot to put on her tampon before going for a swim...

Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Judge Redd

Judge Redd

Posts : 902
Join date : 2014-03-12
Age : 26
Location : Ireland

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)   Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) EmptyFri Nov 10, 2017 11:09 am

@Torsorapgirl You thought it ran too long? I felt it moved by at a good pace. The story itself isnt anything special that is sure, but theres nothing wrong with a familiar plot. I mean, there is a severe lack of originality when it comes to not only horror movies, but hollywood in general these days. I think, if we exclude comic books, we have at least 20 other movies that came out or are coming out this year that are based on novels. No real original ideas there. But thats besides the point.
Anyways, thanks for chiming in. I appreciate it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)   Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017) Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Tombstone Review: 1922 (2017)

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» HK 417D Review
» Jurek Chess Engines Championship 2017. 1/2 finals
» SDCC 2011 Reveals
» Review of The Phantom Menace!!!
» Leech and Hurricane Hordak revealed

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Member's Lounge :: Movies & TV shows :: Movie Reviews-