Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeInterviewsRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 

 


Rechercher Advanced Search
Info Panel
______________
MOD MASTER THREADS:
FALLOUT
THE ELDER SCROLLS

______________


______________


GUNinsider
Fallout Miami: Mika999
Stay Connected

GUNetwork
Keywords
FCOM boom money machine drag dead outlawer powder trooper shotgun Doom brotherhood fett Ryse legion riot khan batman drags republic khans plasma greater Power Reforged boomers
Latest topics
» cant click download mod
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby roflcopter117 Today at 9:43 am

» Dragbody's NCR Ultimate Overhaul Doesn't Work at All
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Tribal Raven Mon Aug 08, 2022 4:30 am

» How much hours
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Dr. Gonzo Thu Aug 04, 2022 1:32 pm

» An introduction!
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby riakaula Thu Aug 04, 2022 12:26 am

» XHX Discord server.
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Menace Mon Aug 01, 2022 11:45 pm

» Discord for fo4 mods?
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby FireFly500 Mon Aug 01, 2022 7:53 am

» Halo infinite Master Chief armor
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Laevisomnus Sun Jul 31, 2022 3:00 am

» [FNV] Certain Ground Textures are Flickering
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Aznmagicalman Thu Jul 28, 2022 6:27 am

» Does anyone know a place to still get the eggplant BFG?
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby WBPappy Wed Jul 27, 2022 3:07 pm

» What happened to Outlawer's pack 1?
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby GrizzlyVII Wed Jul 27, 2022 12:31 am

» FNV glossy / shiny textures
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Acies Mon Jul 25, 2022 1:12 am

» The Next fallout
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby YansterG Sun Jul 24, 2022 3:03 am

» Yet another New Vegas fan, true to caesar!
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Zentmeister Thu Jul 21, 2022 6:01 am

» need some advice
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Acies Mon Jul 18, 2022 10:38 pm

» (Fo4) fo76 Steel Dawn Weapons and Armor ports
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby MrMishanya Sun Jul 17, 2022 2:22 am

» I just realised there is a welcome megathread
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby Big BOBA Sat Jul 16, 2022 1:15 pm

» Fallout 4 port for fallout new vegas help
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby trznik Mon Jul 11, 2022 2:28 pm

» Fallout 4 port for fallout new vegas help
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby trznik Mon Jul 11, 2022 2:24 pm

» Fallout Screenshots XIV
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby klaatu27 Mon Jul 11, 2022 12:05 pm

» Fallout Videos
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Emptyby maybenexttime Mon Jul 11, 2022 4:12 am

August 2022
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
CalendarCalendar
_
August 2022
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
CalendarCalendar

Share
 

 Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Chinpoko117

Chinpoko117

Posts : 556
Join date : 2014-10-28
Age : 26
Location : Florida

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyMon Oct 05, 2020 8:26 pm

@gavin gold

New Vegas is at least justifiable in the sense the Gun Runners are pushing out factory new weapons they manufactured based off pre-war blueprints. While it is true most weapons tend to be wood and metal, composite materials aren't out of the equation entirely as they're not exactly rocket science to reproduce, especially when there's plenty of materials to recycle in the old world left behind in the post-apocalypse.

Plastics are one of those things that take decades or even centuries to degrade since they're not as bio-degradable like organic materials are so scavenging that kind of stuff wouldn't be too hard to believe since you can do the same in Fallout 4's scavenging system with all that useless junk items found in containers and such. That R700 linked in my previous post is also synthetic in Fallout 4, and arguably more tacticool in-game with its custom recoil compensating stock.

As for Fallout not using real life weapon names that's something that isn't really unique to Fallout as most games tend to do that to avoid paying gun manufactures royalties for using their trademark. MW2019 is a good example as almost every weapon in that game is not named after their real life counterpart. A good example would be the G36 rifles being called the 'Holger-26'.

I will agree though Halo is waaaaaay out of place in Fallout. Wolfenstein though isn't too out of place as far as art style goes. The only thing that is out of place are the Nazi symbols and whatnot, but other than that the art style in Fallout 4 and the art style in the modern Wolfenstein games are very similar with their retro-futurism.

A theme I noticed with modern Bethesda games, they all share a similar art style to them. Doom 2016/Eternal, Wolenstein II, Fallout 4... there's a little something in each of these games that wouldn't stick out when placed in one another's respective universe. Doom Guy and the BFG9000 in Fallout 4 is a good example. Granted they're based on the classic 90s design and not the modern Doom Slayer but still. That said Doom Eternal at least the weapon designs were inspired by the classics as well such as the Plasma Rifle. That big bulky sonnuvabitch fits right at home in Fallout imo. I can deff see it being some kind of Enclave post-war design if it existed in Fallout universe.

_________________
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Xua4ue10
Back to top Go down
sigmaceti

sigmaceti

Posts : 307
Join date : 2014-04-23
Age : 30
Location : Planet Vulcan

Character sheet
Name: Shepard
Faction: Lone Wanderer
Level: Unimportant

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyFri Oct 16, 2020 11:11 am

well I limit my F4 game to 55 mods and when something new coms I just decide that I will delete one mod and I don't think that too many mods ruins a game, what I think is that mods enhance the experience (for me at least) and give you more stuff to work with but at a same time I prefer some games without mods, like Far Cry games, I would never and will not ever use mods to play those games but that is my opinion

_________________
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Jn9wxc10
Back to top Go down
Legião

Legião

Posts : 13
Join date : 2018-08-11
Age : 24
Location : Brazil

Character sheet
Name: Victor
Faction: Italian Mafia
Level: 15

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyFri Oct 16, 2020 3:46 pm

I Agree with your opinion. it's like that quote i've seen in youtube: ''There's a fallout in your mods''.

_________________
Make the first shot count. You won't get a second.
.Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Tenor10
Back to top Go down
Sirdanest

Sirdanest

Posts : 869
Join date : 2017-11-23
Location : Hiding from wolves, unable to specify

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction: Dependent
Level: Basement

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptySat Oct 17, 2020 6:44 pm

The true experience was never realized in its vanilla state, the devs were always clear about that. They needed more time. The devs even made their own mods to help create the vision they'd wanted, like Jsawyer's mod. The "pure" experience as a synonym for vanilla just doesn't add up with New Vegas.
Back to top Go down
CommunistDragon

CommunistDragon

Posts : 200
Join date : 2019-04-05
Age : 22
Location : Frankfurt Germany

Character sheet
Name: Neo
Faction: Highest Bidder
Level: 25

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptySun Oct 18, 2020 8:36 pm

Too many of the "wrong" mods ruin the game. If you know how to pick great mods then you game can only get better.
Back to top Go down
yeye25784

yeye25784

Posts : 5
Join date : 2021-08-23
Age : 22
Location : Australia

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Agreed   Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyWed Aug 25, 2021 12:59 am

I completely agree, I started by downloading everything I liked, now I seem to be more picky about what i download as some mods have just ruined it and others have made it way more entertaining.
Back to top Go down
Tastys

Tastys

Posts : 16
Join date : 2018-04-17

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyThu Sep 02, 2021 10:01 pm

Too many cooks spoils the broth.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrGrOK8oZG8
Back to top Go down
Ballout

Ballout

Posts : 24
Join date : 2021-08-19

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyFri Sep 03, 2021 11:29 am

For me it's a fine balance.

I remember one modder on Nexus comparing FO to Metro, and saying the former just had too much goofiness and silly humour in it, and I tend to agree, when it comes to the latter Fallouts.

1, 2 and Tactics had humour, but it was tempered with the grim soundtrack, plot and environment, taking a lot of cues from post apocalyptic movies of the Cold War. 3 and NV did okay with carrying on the flavour of the first games, but you could see changes coming in the tone of gameplay. 4 was borderline and 76 no longer has any feeling of the Cold War era, at least for me anyway.

Even the reasoning and lore around Vault 76 is flagrantly taking a dump on essential lore, and it's designed to cater to the ego of the neugamer; the casual MMPORG 'wanna play with my friends and take selfies' customer base. The very fact that the marketing for 76 is that it's a Vault for America's 'best and brightest' (no matter what later plotinelines reveal) is a direct marketing target for the new mass consumer, ie, "The best and brightest - like you, dear consumer!".

I've got 3, NV and 4 modded to the max, like most people, but all of those mods are focused on making the game grittier, harsher, more somber, will still preserving Fallout lore and legacy.

These latest YT videos that convert FO4 into CoD are very impressive, but they're the point where it destroys gameplay. Once again, my own humble opinion.
Back to top Go down
anstand

anstand

Posts : 57
Join date : 2014-02-25

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyMon Sep 20, 2021 8:20 pm

I tend to agree here too, especially when it comes to weapon mods and mods like A World of Pain, or other quests mods for New Vegas that add locations to places that make absolute no sense (that god damn cigarette factory near Goodsprings in the mountain region). For a game like New Vegas, which put a lot of effort into world building, it is crucial that mods also do the same, or otherwise, immersion is broken.

Whereas in Fallout 3, I usually go wild with the location mods, since nothing in this game makes any sense.
Back to top Go down
ButtMunch

ButtMunch

Posts : 13
Join date : 2022-01-03
Age : 21
Location : Cocoa Butter

Character sheet
Name: Farmer With Shotgun
Faction: Vault 22
Level: 34

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptySat Feb 05, 2022 5:04 am

I agree. Before I had a PC I would fantasize about playing modded bethesda games and once I finally did I spent hours and hours and hours on downloading random mods and trying them out and trying to make like my own perfect lil fallout but nothing ever really hits the same as playing the core game even though I still love mods and will continue to destroy my memory by endlessly downloading mods I know at least imo that base game = best game.
Back to top Go down
Thevaultdweller112

Thevaultdweller112

Posts : 13
Join date : 2014-10-21
Age : 26
Location : Robco Tower, The Frontier

Character sheet
Name: Gunner
Faction: Crusaders
Level: 45

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyWed Feb 09, 2022 5:36 am

I can understand your view tbh. For me i usually base Fallouts on the story lines and the locations and go from there, more wild west style gunslinger for New Vegas, more military survival style for Fallout 3. Fallout 4 is a weird one as i think the game itself doesn't hold to a linear style which i really don't like.. but overall i go off of what mods are available for that game and how I'm feeling at that time and if anything has inspired me to change it up. I've made my New Vegas like the new Stalker as it looks fantastic and downloaded some survival mods + Awop and many others but as always i'll feel a change at some point but that's the beauty of mods! You can make it entirely how you want it whenever you want

_________________
Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 9a94404d687f7875d5afb2f616d6143b97cf236146c0f4aae39f7ce16fb9816f
Back to top Go down
GenJohnWilliam

GenJohnWilliam

Posts : 436
Join date : 2014-10-30
Age : 22
Location : blep

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 EmptyThu Feb 10, 2022 11:15 pm

u right i try to keep it light and vanilla. only have a couple of crazy mods dont even use enbs anymore only reshades they look more close to the actual game they most enbs
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game    Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game  - Page 2 Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Unpopular Opinion: Too many mods ruin the game

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

 Similar topics

-
» Opinion on in-game romance?
» Mods not showing In game
» Best mods for a more Fallout 3/NV-esque Fallout 4 game
»  What game is more worth / convenient making mods for
» List the mods Fallout 4 integrated into their game.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-