Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarInterviewsFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
Stay Connected

_
July 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Schwarzbart

avatar

Posts : 14
Join date : 2018-01-13
Age : 21
Location : Germany

PostSubject: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:02 am

Hello GUN community,

I am a big fan of the Fallout franchise, especially FO NV and I love mods that make the game more hardcore/survivallike.

I wonder what are your opinions about the DUST mod, if you have any experience with it.

For me personal, I love this mod, it turn NV into a deadly trap with a deep immersion in the game. I really like the fact, that tunnlers are roaming the mojave dessert, it makes sense lore and gameplay wise ^^.

Yeah thats my opinion/thoughts about the mod, let me tell yours Smile

With kind regards

Schwarzbart
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Modbrah

avatar

Posts : 22
Join date : 2016-11-29

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:29 pm

Dust started off cool, but felt cheap and annoying after a while. The hostile humans were good, but they made the sleep,eat,drink "needs" system unrealistic to point of artificial difficulty. Tunnelers and their godlike senses weren't implemented well. The conflicts with alot of other mods was a problem. Modding New Vegas to be more hardcore without the depressing atmosphere of Dust was a better choose than getting the mod IMO.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ElMaldito

avatar

Posts : 608
Join date : 2017-10-20
Age : 19
Location : Tuchanka

Character sheet
Name: Niko
Faction: Outer Haven
Level: Over 9000 Chromosomes

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:55 pm

Once i tried a DUST playtrough, i created my character and stuff, but.. 

When i got out of the start shack and after a few steps forward i noticed, not too far away (on the right from the shack) a group of like.. 3 or 5 deathclaws(? more or less, and i tried to sneak out of they sight  B U T . . .

Before i notice, i was being attacked by fucking Cazadores that were on the other side (left from the shack) i tried to run or at least cripple their wings but it was useless, after that i tried like one or two times to play with DUST but then i said "Fuck this". Too much hardcore for me lol.

I know that if i set my mind into that, i could play it, but it'll be too much effort with a LOT of game-saves, and too little enjoyment.

_________________
                                               
Kek:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Schwarzbart

avatar

Posts : 14
Join date : 2018-01-13
Age : 21
Location : Germany

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:59 pm

@"ElMaldito" Well that does not sound to nice
The game balane feels really off sometimes, thats true...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Posterize4VC

avatar

Posts : 187
Join date : 2017-12-08
Age : 19
Location : U.S.

Character sheet
Name: Chef Vortivask
Faction: N/A
Level: 999

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:58 pm

I think the lore and the little bits of story that are sprinkled throughout are awesome. Very creepy atmosphere as well.

_________________
Cursed be the ground, for our sake. Both thorns and thistles it shall bring forth, for us, for out of the ground we were taken for the dust that we are... and to the dust we shall return.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Azreg

avatar

Posts : 179
Join date : 2017-01-01
Age : 22

Character sheet
Name: Cole Phelps
Faction: LAPD
Level: 14

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:57 pm

I finished a DUST playthrough just a few days ago and it's been great. I love how it captures the essence of surviving, struggling and being the prey instead of the hunter. However there are a few things I wish it expanded on.

First of all, I wish there was a few more traders or settlements instead of running around from town to town mowing hostile people down. I wish there were a few quests here and there, with some that explain what happened to NPCs and familiar people, maybe even encounter a few of them.
I really hoped there would be companions, new unique ones with their own stories.
I was also a little bit disappointed with the lack of unique textures, especially in Honest Hearts, no spoilers :p
And finally, the endings. Adding a few more possible ways to escape the mojave wouldn't hurt.
Anyway, it's still a fantastic mod and people should give it a try.
Me, I started Obscurum Pandemic. So far so good. Cheers everyone!

_________________

Everything by Star.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Last Cascade

avatar

Posts : 78
Join date : 2017-12-13
Age : 18
Location : Braavos

Character sheet
Name: Watkins
Faction: Brotherhood Of Steel
Level: 13

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:13 am

Oh, DUST. Where to start?
It's a great experience, but might drive you to the edge of rage quit if you don't adapt quickly.
The difficulty is well balanced, you can't just burst into a town guns blazing like you'd do in vanilla, but on the other hand, enemies have so much exploitable weak points it's hilarious... As long you don't forget: so do you.

The lore, well... What can I say that hasn't been said already?
Well written, not so well thought if I may say so.
I, personally, feel it's a bit too much Pro-NCR. Now, don't get me wrong, the NCR in DUST seems to have done a lot of really, really messed up stuff within the Mojave, and definitely left it's (their?) footprint.

But, I find it a bit unrealistic that everyone crumbled around them, while they kept their ground. Maybe it was necessary for the story, seeing how vicious they've become, I certainly don't know.

But anyway, hell'u'va mod, challenging as hell and incredibly well put.

_________________
"A girl is Arya Stark of Winterfell, and I'm going home."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
pecos1

avatar

Posts : 20
Join date : 2018-01-16
Age : 18
Location : Nelson

Character sheet
Name: Mean Sonofagun
Faction: Caesar's Legion
Level: Super Mutant Legionary

PostSubject: Very interesting concept   Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:09 am

I havn't played Dust in too long, but I can say I enjoyed the aspect of "everything in the Mojave going to crap" (Which seems to be a common option for the endings to fnv)

The mod gives New Vegas an essence of real life survival in a torn apart wasteland (though I did end up downloading the fast travel option for this mod because walking was too inconvenient for me XD)

Though I wish the mod offered some dialogue options to really contribute to the story essence, because talking to small bands of faction remnants would be really interesting rather then them just attacking you. Like if you could go assist the Brotherhood in Camp Searchlight or the NCR in one of their strongholds.

I personally LOVED the endings that you could achieve. (well maybe the plane one was ok) *Spoiler about ending here* The way they implemented the factions and dlc into the 20 year later Mojave was very interesting to see.

My only complaint would be the tad lack of guidance for what to do other than survive, as well as the lack of any interaction with other people or factions. Other than that, I would give this mod an 8/10 for succeeding in giving a true survival, dark, withered Mojave experience that is very interesting to play for FNV veterans. Thumbs Up

Also Hi I'm new here Big Hello Smiley
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Furente7

avatar

Posts : 181
Join date : 2014-12-08
Age : 28
Location : Single Occupant Exoatmospheric Insertion Vehicle

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:06 am

I think Obscurum is better (despite the lag).

But since this is about Dust, I won't compare it. But Dust feels kind of empty to me, just as empty as vanilla FNV. I get that it's meant to be a "lonesome survivor"-type scenario, but I'd prefer if things other than hunger/thirst were trying to kill me at most points.

The tunnelers were great, but there should have been more of them. Way more of them. Maybe even a script that spawns 20 around you when you encounter one in the wasteland (so you don't degrade performance with spawn point spam)

But the one thing I do love is that everyone is hostile. We need more mods/games like this. You rely on yourself, and yourself alone. No vendors, no doctors, no friendly NPCs to help you fight. The way it should have been (from a sandbox perspective ofc. RIP quests)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Redmaus

avatar

Posts : 37
Join date : 2018-01-30
Location : Texas

PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:42 pm

Wow I had no idea Dust or Obscurum even existed until I came to this site. Great that my eyes are now open to more mods Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?   

Back to top Go down
 

What is your opinion/experience about FNV Dust MOD ?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-