Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________

Profile Image Guidelines
December 2016
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Opinion on in-game romance?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
AlphaCenturion09



Posts : 201
Join date : 2014-04-21
Age : 19
Location : The United States of America

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:23 pm

Since it has been confirmed no dog and robot romance, I don't care for it anymore Sad

_________________


My Achievements:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
meowjar



Posts : 143
Join date : 2014-09-05
Age : 17
Location : Croatia, Varaždin

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Jul 27, 2015 12:48 am

I like in game romance, its fun. I hope that there will be some benefits in fallout 4 for romancing a companion, like a temporary charisma boost. Very Happy

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.moddb.com/members/meowjar
farts30



Posts : 132
Join date : 2015-06-06
Location : Slowdetha TX

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:19 am

Not a fan of ingame romance or companions for that matter, but I like that there are extras in the game that I will never use.

_________________
All the parties are formed. All the gangs are born. The Beast has been chosen. Who is going to win in the end? We'll set fire to the shore. We'll set fire to the sea. We'll set fire to the meadow. We'll bring this whole world to it's knees.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
thompson4545



Posts : 206
Join date : 2015-06-14
Age : 19
Location : Colorado

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:58 pm

I think it adds to the game so I don't mind to much but it definitely is different for Fallout cause its kind of like Mass Effect and so is the dialogue but I was also thinking about the wife if you play as the male protagonist and she's still alive or something it could get weird so kind of like the witcher but im pretty sure the wife is not still alive but I don't know.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Itry3221



Posts : 179
Join date : 2015-07-03
Age : 20
Location : The Zone

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:04 pm

I don't think it's pointless for people who want it, I just don't understand what anyone gains from it...

Maybe I just don't find pixels attractive :S

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8NVQ4FQzs4Pbqm8pyYrN8A
FoVet20



Posts : 3511
Join date : 2014-08-18
Age : 22
Location : Dublin, Ireland

Character sheet
Name: Cain Reaver
Faction: none
Level: 167

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:14 pm

its really awkward to play games with romance scenes when you dont live alone for example your mum walks in the room as Shepard undress Miranda in mass effct 2 thats a lil awkward lol
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tesvixen



Posts : 3681
Join date : 2014-02-26
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 1:02 am

I really like how it was handled in the Mass Effect series. I loved Liara's personality in the 1st game, so that made it easy for my Shepard to fall for her. The changes to the character (her becoming hardened and cold after Shepard's death in ME2 intro) made it interesting to continue that romance in later games, and it was fun actually being able to tell her 'I love you' in ME3 (as Shepard).

Dragon Age does a similar job of it, despite the different player characters in each series. My first Origins warden fell for Leliana, my second for Alistair, and it was neat to see those relationships continue in Inquisition.

Bethesda looks to have taken a page or 2 out of Bioware's book for Fallout 4, I'm curious to see how those elements mesh with their open world stuff.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.nunyabusiness.com
MrComplex



Posts : 159
Join date : 2015-03-26
Age : 25
Location : Dubai UAE

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 1:42 am

If you can infact romance every npc I can imagine them putting in a few generic quests to win over the affections of npc's in the game so you can move them into your custom home like in skyrim, i rekon there gunna have just a few more or less irrelevant characters that can be romanced,married and moved into your house like in skyrim, maybe they will do a whole dlc on house building and romance like hearthfire

I would however like to see a few funny quests like the 3some quest in fo3

_________________
There are two sides to every story, dont take the first side you hear as the truth
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ashi Itachi



Posts : 578
Join date : 2015-08-10
Age : 28
Location : Wales

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:12 am

Im not the biggest fan when it comes to Beth game romances, always so bland, now if they added a romance that was on par with Mass effect in Fallout4 i would be happy, but skyrims romance felt like i just married some random NPC i dont care about who will easily pop out gold and food for me, thats all it really was... Mass effect gave you some one to think about personly, dont get me wrong its nice to have that optional romance side of it in skyrim, but id much rather it be like Mass effect when it comes to romances, makes you want to care about that character instead of doing it just to say ''anywho thats another side quest to knock off my to do list'' closed eyes smile

_________________


Last edited by Ashi Itachi on Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MWguitarist



Posts : 65
Join date : 2015-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:13 am

I dont mind the romance options, I just wish they were a bit more elaborate. Like Mass Effect or Dragon Age etc.

It needs to be engaging and my dynamic than say skyrim where you just slap an amulet on them and bam, hey let's get married because you've been my companion for X amount of time and have said nothing but "Sworn to carry your burdens" When i want to give you my stuff XD

Doesn't need to be EVERY marriage NPC with a nice little side romance quest, but a few would be nice to maybe win their trust or something along those lines.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
vectory54



Posts : 413
Join date : 2015-04-26
Age : 18
Location : Italy

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:04 am

I don't like the romance in a game but, i like the roromance of the witcher 2-3 and mass effect 3 Wink

_________________
"I will fight until my enemies without giving up before his eyes; nothing and no one can stop me because they are the great Prince of sayan. I represent the lineage of Sayan! "
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Archi



Posts : 320
Join date : 2015-06-13
Location : I'm lost ;-;

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:14 am

I think It can be fresh but mostly I'm neutral to this stuff If It's done correctly It can workout but if It's filler It will be pure... you can guess Smile

_________________

Just master race thing....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
raze4573



Posts : 646
Join date : 2015-01-21
Age : 26
Location : DeeCee

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:19 am

If done properly, sure. Just look at first Dragon Age and Inquisition, at the Mass Effect trilogy, Witcher 2/3.
What should never be done is what happened in Dragon Age 2....jesus...I still have nightmares after that one.

_________________
“ The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel. ”
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WAREZ



Posts : 44
Join date : 2015-06-08
Age : 27
Location : Tenpenny Tower

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:57 pm

Looks like this time the character is an adult with a family so the romance may be more realistic. Like in ME and TW series. I mean if there is a Red Lucy somewhere ill be happy to give her some caps but having a serious relantionship would be different than just marry some girls and just collect money from time to time.

_________________

Back to top Go down
View user profile
The author of this message was banned from the forum - See the message
haloruler1449



Posts : 168
Join date : 2015-06-10
Location : USA

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:46 pm

If done right, this could add a lot more depth to characters and their emotions and people with characters that may make use of this system. But I am not sure how it is going to tie in with the plot considering your character is married in the beginning of the game. More of how it works will most likely be in game, but we'll have to wait and see.

_________________
Steam Greenlight is the WorldStarHipHop of the gaming world.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JoLi628



Posts : 5
Join date : 2015-08-31
Location : USA

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:25 am

Romances would be a really interesting addition to Fallout 4. Of course, any addition to a such a game is a good addition(as long as they keep it close to the lore of the game). If Bethesda is adding romances, then I would hope for a lot of options for "maintaining" a relationship in-game just as much as making one; almost like real-world just not so complex. But, that's just me lol.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
tgspy



Posts : 307
Join date : 2015-06-20
Age : 17
Location : Victoria, Australia

Character sheet
Name: Intern John
Faction: Frontier NCR Regiment
Level: 5

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 am

I feel that romances will be more of a plot device than an actual working mechanic. That's not to say that it can't be used as a great mechanic to change the way you play the game, but I believe that the whole premise of "romance", would be used as a quest point, say, get close to a target, befriend them, get info out of them, turns into full blown relationship, etc etc etc. Now, in regards to just the romancing of multiple genders or what not, I fully support that, kudos to bethesda for being public about it. It will certainly make a lot of people happy. However, I feel some people may get picky with the lore ("There wasn't much gay marriage or romances back in a 50's era yadda yadda yadda"), though personally I don't care about that sort of lore as long as the rest of the games story telling is up to scratch. That's what I think about this

_________________
Writer on the Fallout Intensive Project, which aims to bring the Fallout story to the UK.
Bug Tester, Interior Creator, Designer and Decorator on the Frontier Mod
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Today at 10:07 pm

Back to top Go down
 

Opinion on in-game romance?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

 Similar topics

-
» This game sure can be adamant about wanting players to take certain weapons
» The "Who would win?" game
» problem with the game : no control over the moves of the pc
» Worst Video Game You've Ever Played
» Video game addicts, help me pass my class.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-