Info Panel
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
November 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Calendar Calendar


Opinion on in-game romance?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Jason Todd on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:04 pm

So this is one question that has been on my mind the entire time I've played the fallout games. And mind you I've played all of them except that xbox exclusive one.

I understand that a cornerstone of the Fallout series is dark humor. This is evident even in the relationships, as the marriages in the original games and the weird flirting options we get with perks in this newest installment. Maybe I'm a sucker for heart- touching games but I really find myself desiring a chance for deeper connections with characters in the fallout games. In skyrim we had the option to pursue marriage with a wide variety of people but those relationships felt shallow. I'm sure a lot of you have played mass effect, and romance is a key part of those series.

Maybe it's just because I wanted the option for my character to tell amata how much he became attached to her, or how much he became attracted to arcade in the more recent game, but I feel like romance would add a new dimension to the wasteland.

Modding makes the wasteland bend to our needs so we can have whatever we want in our own games, but just out of curiosity, what do you prefer? Flirting jokes and hookups with red lucy and hookers, or do you find yourself wanting a little bit more love to get you through nuclear winter?

_________________
Poor Todd's had an accident. So may you all
avatar
Jason Todd

Posts : 25
Join date : 2015-07-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by FafnirEtherion on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:20 pm

I've heard here and there that F4 will have romance options, so, that's great for me ^^ I always loved role-playing loving romances or abusive post-apocaliptic relationship ( CF : My profile picture, if you know what I mean ^^ )
avatar
FafnirEtherion

Posts : 615
Join date : 2015-06-15
Age : 20
Location : France

Character sheet
Name: Julien
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by fallouter on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:22 pm

Yeah romance would be an excellent idea in my opinion too. Instead of just hookers actually get involved in like trying to form a relationship where they would start being a companion now. Amata is a terrific example since I really did have a strong connection with our characters and felt like the back story could have developed onto that. But unfortunately since Amata has a quest where you never see each other, or if you do she'll get killed, there really isn't any other way to achieve that rather than by modding. Great concept and great idea though dude. Congratulations!
avatar
fallouter

Posts : 457
Join date : 2015-06-06
Age : 22
Location : Earth

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by nightfall345 on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:25 pm

It is confirmed by quake con romance is a thing in fallout 4!And can be a lesbian or gay relationship as well as gender is a nonfactor when it comes to the romances!THIS IS GREAT!!!! Party Car I see what you did t Bunny Joy Dance Thumbs Up cheers Banana Dance

_________________
avatar
nightfall345

Posts : 43
Join date : 2015-07-19
Age : 37
Location : Somewhere near the eastcoast

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by GivreCoeur on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:31 pm

Romance will be great only if you have the same options that were in Fallout 2, if you know what I mean Very Happy
avatar
GivreCoeur

Posts : 66
Join date : 2015-06-08
Age : 25
Location : France

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Jason Todd on Sat Jul 25, 2015 8:57 pm

@FafnirEtherion That almost makes me want to pay some mod author to put a joker/harlequin npc pack into the game...so much yess....

@nightfall345 I saw that, that announcement prompted me to seek others reactions to this kind of stuff:)

and @GivreCoeur Hookers...So many hookers cowboy

_________________
Poor Todd's had an accident. So may you all
avatar
Jason Todd

Posts : 25
Join date : 2015-07-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Tray on Sat Jul 25, 2015 10:03 pm

I feel that it doesn't fit in Fallout, and I'm not all that interested in it.

I think it'll be stupid if it's too complicated, regardless of gain, and I think it'll be pointless if too simple and for too little gain.



But hey, someone will probably enjoy it....I won't judge, and just ignore that part of the game.

_________________
Metallic Monk Fanatic Extraordinaire
Spoiler:
avatar
Tray

Posts : 52
Join date : 2015-06-02
Age : 20
Location : London

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by xuanviet122 on Sun Jul 26, 2015 1:33 am

@Tray agree with you, this is Fallout, not Mass Effect, first the dialogue system, now this ? although is would be cool to flirting around with Lady Killer/Cherchez La Femme

_________________
avatar
xuanviet122

Posts : 193
Join date : 2015-07-10
Age : 23
Location : Internet (ba dum tss)

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Brigand231 on Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:02 am

I'm fine with romance if it's actually a romance story arc and not some banal side quest to bring someone flowers, tick the right quest flags, and score enough points to move the quest along.

Thing is, to make it genuine, a romance-able character will NOT be able to be romanced by just any player character due to personalities, habits, quirks, and preferences. It's easy enough to build any character as bisexual or bi-curious, but I anticipate that if they made characters deep enough for actual romance users will piss and moan that they wanted their character to have a chance with him/her, but were rejected because they were incompatible or the NPC walked out after the player said or did something they disagree with.

Going back to my first paragraph, I recognize that the game will have to use some system to track progress and that's fine. What I'm opposed to is making it obvious. I don't believe a game will ever be detailed or involved enough to facilitate an active relationship - at some point the questing or script for it will end and it will become flat and lifeless and the player will feel trapped in a dead end relationship.

_________________
avatar
Brigand231

Posts : 368
Join date : 2014-03-10
Age : 43
Location : Somewhere I shouldn't be

View user profile http://www.flickr.com/photos/brigand231/

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by nightfall345 on Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:31 am

Well yea but just had a thought what if the PCs wife or husband isn't dead(ie beth is lieing) and they come back and you are with someone else that could be interesting.

_________________
avatar
nightfall345

Posts : 43
Join date : 2015-07-19
Age : 37
Location : Somewhere near the eastcoast

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by onowrouzi on Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:01 pm

As long as its optional I'm good. Never complain about free stuff, even if it's not to your liking. GroupHug

_________________

“The worst thing that could possibly happen to anybody would be to not be used for anything by anybody. Thank you for using me, even though I didn't want to be used by anybody.” -Kurt Vonnegut
avatar
onowrouzi

Posts : 363
Join date : 2015-07-11
Age : 29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by MikeLefner on Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:46 pm

I think that romance options always add great sense of depth to the games. So I'm really looking forward to those options. I'm really curious how well will this be handled.
avatar
MikeLefner

Posts : 173
Join date : 2015-04-22
Age : 25
Location : Czech Republic

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by AlphaCenturion09 on Sun Jul 26, 2015 1:01 pm

I think it will be a great thing to add to Fallout, hopefully it's more like Dragon Age's romance system than Skyrims. Plus it would be cool if you could romance Dogmeat and Codsworth just for fun.

_________________


My Achievements:

avatar
AlphaCenturion09

Posts : 202
Join date : 2014-04-22
Age : 20
Location : The United States of America

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by DirtyPockets on Sun Jul 26, 2015 2:36 pm

@AlphaCenturion09 wrote: I think it will be a great thing to add to Fallout, hopefully it's more like Dragon Age's romance system than Skyrims. Plus it would be cool if you could romance Dogmeat and Codsworth just for fun.
Think of the outrage. "Fallout 4 wants you to reproduce with robots? more at 11." Other than that I think it'd be a bit weird. Not bad, just different. The most Fallout has gotten to romance (at least from the ones I've played, 3 and NV) is Bittercup. However, I think this would be a welcome change, assuming it's done correctly.
avatar
DirtyPockets

Posts : 143
Join date : 2015-07-06
Age : 20
Location : Chicago, Illinois

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by John Henry Eden on Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:58 pm

Normaly i´m not a big fan of romance in game, expect Mass Effect.
In ME it´s like a very important part of the story, in other games it´s just like S** sales. Had that feling in Skyrim. But If some one remember this:
During the development process of Cass, there were some ideas to have the player character wake up next to her drunk and be wed with her. The marriage would take place with The King doing the proceedings with an Elvis song.

After Skyrim i wasn´t suprised taht F4 get this, BUT Beth say that ALL companions can be romanced! So i think it´s some kind of joke or they a
mad... At last we had robot fun with Fisto in FNV so i don´t wonder.

At last it´s optimal. ^^

avatar
John Henry Eden

Posts : 221
Join date : 2014-04-11
Location : Raven Rock Washington DC

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by MegaBly on Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:21 pm

In games where an open world and player freedom are in my mind, I personally feel it should be a requirement. Really, for no other reason than for roleplaying, immersion, and player freedom.

_________________
DeviantArt: http://megablystone.deviantart.com/
Steam: Mega Blystone

Here's a map of stuff
avatar
MegaBly

Posts : 23
Join date : 2015-07-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Pharah on Mon Jul 27, 2015 1:15 am

Really not a fan of romance, especially when we are forced into it. Player has to decide himself which features he wishes to use and which not.
avatar
Pharah

Posts : 3434
Join date : 2014-05-14
Age : 23

Character sheet
Name: Aya A7-01
Faction:
Level: Unknown

View user profile http://www.nexusmods.com/fallout4/users/2168281/

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Fury on Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:22 am

I truthfully am all for it. Games I remember the most usually involve characters that are fleshed out, you the player can actually bond with a follower(s) or can have some form of deep relationship with one (IE: Mass Effect, or Halo 4). I feel that it makes the player in turn want to invest a lot of time with that companion, play the game more and when something goes wrong the player actually feels a sense of loss in some way or form.

_________________
Quotes:

"Through action, a Man becomes a Hero. Through death, a Hero becomes a Legend. Through time, a Legend becomes a Myth and by learning from the myth a man takes action." ~ Some Dude in the YouTube Comments

"Its time to begin, isn't it? I get a little bit bigger and then I'll admit I am just the same as I was. Now don't you understand I am never changing who I am." Imagine Dragons, It's Time

"We've all been sorry, we've all been hurt. But how we survive, is what makes us who we are." Rise Against, Survive

"The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. The good things don't always soften the bad things, but vise versa, the bad things don't always spoil the good things and make them unimportant." ~ The Doctor (11th Doctor)

"Dream not of what you are, but of what you want to be." ~ Various Warframe Characters
avatar
Fury

Posts : 311
Join date : 2015-04-18
Age : 20
Location : Lost

Character sheet
Name:
Faction:
Level: 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by WykdGrl on Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:19 am

I am all for the romance option so long as actual options exist. The romances in ME and in DAO were great and (for me) really added to the game. Hopefully FO4 will live up to what has been said and there will be multiple options in a wide variety of arrangements. It gives the game more emotional resonance, deeper immersion, and more story (when done well) and I mostly play for the story. So ... yeah ... bring on the romances!
avatar
WykdGrl

Posts : 97
Join date : 2015-04-27
Location : San Francisco

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by CrimsonPhoenix7 on Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:59 am

I'm typically not a big fan of in-game romance. It usually feels shallow and doesn't add anything to the greater game immersion aside from the "fade to black" booty calls.

That said, I think the Fable series has always done a good job with it. You do not only have the "romance," but also visiting and interacting with the family beyond the initial shack-up. That kind of extra step makes the game universe feel bigger to me.

_________________
avatar
CrimsonPhoenix7

Posts : 132
Join date : 2014-09-02
Age : 28
Location : USA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion on in-game romance?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum