Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________

Profile Image Guidelines
December 2016
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Opinion on in-game romance?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Jason Todd



Posts : 25
Join date : 2015-07-25

PostSubject: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:04

So this is one question that has been on my mind the entire time I've played the fallout games. And mind you I've played all of them except that xbox exclusive one.

I understand that a cornerstone of the Fallout series is dark humor. This is evident even in the relationships, as the marriages in the original games and the weird flirting options we get with perks in this newest installment. Maybe I'm a sucker for heart- touching games but I really find myself desiring a chance for deeper connections with characters in the fallout games. In skyrim we had the option to pursue marriage with a wide variety of people but those relationships felt shallow. I'm sure a lot of you have played mass effect, and romance is a key part of those series.

Maybe it's just because I wanted the option for my character to tell amata how much he became attached to her, or how much he became attracted to arcade in the more recent game, but I feel like romance would add a new dimension to the wasteland.

Modding makes the wasteland bend to our needs so we can have whatever we want in our own games, but just out of curiosity, what do you prefer? Flirting jokes and hookups with red lucy and hookers, or do you find yourself wanting a little bit more love to get you through nuclear winter?

_________________
Poor Todd's had an accident. So may you all
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FafnirEtherion



Posts : 402
Join date : 2015-06-14
Age : 19
Location : France

Character sheet
Name: Julien
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 23

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:20

I've heard here and there that F4 will have romance options, so, that's great for me ^^ I always loved role-playing loving romances or abusive post-apocaliptic relationship ( CF : My profile picture, if you know what I mean ^^ )

_________________
I've come here to chew bubblegum and mod Fallout ! And I'm all out of bubblegum !

My mods :

Fallout New Vegas:
 


Skyrim:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
fallouter



Posts : 410
Join date : 2015-06-06
Age : 21
Location : Earth

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:22

Yeah romance would be an excellent idea in my opinion too. Instead of just hookers actually get involved in like trying to form a relationship where they would start being a companion now. Amata is a terrific example since I really did have a strong connection with our characters and felt like the back story could have developed onto that. But unfortunately since Amata has a quest where you never see each other, or if you do she'll get killed, there really isn't any other way to achieve that rather than by modding. Great concept and great idea though dude. Congratulations!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
nightfall345



Posts : 43
Join date : 2015-07-18
Age : 36
Location : Somewhere near the eastcoast

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:25

It is confirmed by quake con romance is a thing in fallout 4!And can be a lesbian or gay relationship as well as gender is a nonfactor when it comes to the romances!THIS IS GREAT!!!! Party Car I see what you did t Bunny Joy Dance Thumbs Up cheers Banana Dance

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GivreCoeur



Posts : 66
Join date : 2015-06-07
Age : 24
Location : France

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:31

Romance will be great only if you have the same options that were in Fallout 2, if you know what I mean Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jason Todd



Posts : 25
Join date : 2015-07-25

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 9:57

@FafnirEtherion That almost makes me want to pay some mod author to put a joker/harlequin npc pack into the game...so much yess....

@nightfall345 I saw that, that announcement prompted me to seek others reactions to this kind of stuff:)

and @GivreCoeur Hookers...So many hookers cowboy

_________________
Poor Todd's had an accident. So may you all
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tray



Posts : 52
Join date : 2015-06-01
Age : 19
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 11:03

I feel that it doesn't fit in Fallout, and I'm not all that interested in it.

I think it'll be stupid if it's too complicated, regardless of gain, and I think it'll be pointless if too simple and for too little gain.



But hey, someone will probably enjoy it....I won't judge, and just ignore that part of the game.

_________________
Metallic Monk Fanatic Extraordinaire
Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
xuanviet122



Posts : 193
Join date : 2015-07-10
Age : 22
Location : Internet (ba dum tss)

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 14:33

@Tray agree with you, this is Fallout, not Mass Effect, first the dialogue system, now this ? although is would be cool to flirting around with Lady Killer/Cherchez La Femme

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brigand231



Posts : 368
Join date : 2014-03-10
Age : 42
Location : Somewhere I shouldn't be

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sat 25 Jul 2015 - 19:02

I'm fine with romance if it's actually a romance story arc and not some banal side quest to bring someone flowers, tick the right quest flags, and score enough points to move the quest along.

Thing is, to make it genuine, a romance-able character will NOT be able to be romanced by just any player character due to personalities, habits, quirks, and preferences. It's easy enough to build any character as bisexual or bi-curious, but I anticipate that if they made characters deep enough for actual romance users will piss and moan that they wanted their character to have a chance with him/her, but were rejected because they were incompatible or the NPC walked out after the player said or did something they disagree with.

Going back to my first paragraph, I recognize that the game will have to use some system to track progress and that's fine. What I'm opposed to is making it obvious. I don't believe a game will ever be detailed or involved enough to facilitate an active relationship - at some point the questing or script for it will end and it will become flat and lifeless and the player will feel trapped in a dead end relationship.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flickr.com/photos/brigand231/
nightfall345



Posts : 43
Join date : 2015-07-18
Age : 36
Location : Somewhere near the eastcoast

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 0:31

Well yea but just had a thought what if the PCs wife or husband isn't dead(ie beth is lieing) and they come back and you are with someone else that could be interesting.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
onowrouzi



Posts : 358
Join date : 2015-07-11
Age : 28

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 1:01

As long as its optional I'm good. Never complain about free stuff, even if it's not to your liking. GroupHug

_________________

“The worst thing that could possibly happen to anybody would be to not be used for anything by anybody. Thank you for using me, even though I didn't want to be used by anybody.” -Kurt Vonnegut
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MikeLefner



Posts : 172
Join date : 2015-04-21
Age : 24
Location : Scotland/Czech Republic

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 1:46

I think that romance options always add great sense of depth to the games. So I'm really looking forward to those options. I'm really curious how well will this be handled.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AlphaCenturion09



Posts : 201
Join date : 2014-04-21
Age : 19
Location : The United States of America

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 2:01

I think it will be a great thing to add to Fallout, hopefully it's more like Dragon Age's romance system than Skyrims. Plus it would be cool if you could romance Dogmeat and Codsworth just for fun.

_________________


My Achievements:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DirtyPockets



Posts : 143
Join date : 2015-07-06
Age : 19
Location : Chicago, Illinois

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 3:36

@AlphaCenturion09 wrote:
I think it will be a great thing to add to Fallout, hopefully it's more like Dragon Age's romance system than Skyrims. Plus it would be cool if you could romance Dogmeat and Codsworth just for fun.
Think of the outrage. "Fallout 4 wants you to reproduce with robots? more at 11." Other than that I think it'd be a bit weird. Not bad, just different. The most Fallout has gotten to romance (at least from the ones I've played, 3 and NV) is Bittercup. However, I think this would be a welcome change, assuming it's done correctly.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
John Henry Eden



Posts : 217
Join date : 2014-04-11
Location : Raven Rock Washington DC

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 9:58

Normaly i´m not a big fan of romance in game, expect Mass Effect.
In ME it´s like a very important part of the story, in other games it´s just like S** sales. Had that feling in Skyrim. But If some one remember this:
Quote :
During the development process of Cass, there were some ideas to have the player character wake up next to her drunk and be wed with her. The marriage would take place with The King doing the proceedings with an Elvis song.

After Skyrim i wasn´t suprised taht F4 get this, BUT Beth say that ALL companions can be romanced! So i think it´s some kind of joke or they a
mad... At last we had robot fun with Fisto in FNV so i don´t wonder.

At last it´s optimal. ^^

Back to top Go down
View user profile
MegaBly



Posts : 23
Join date : 2015-07-07

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 11:21

In games where an open world and player freedom are in my mind, I personally feel it should be a requirement. Really, for no other reason than for roleplaying, immersion, and player freedom.

_________________
DeviantArt: http://megablystone.deviantart.com/
Steam: Mega Blystone

Here's a map of stuff
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dio Brando



Posts : 3284
Join date : 2014-05-13
Age : 22

Character sheet
Name: Aya A7-01
Faction: Institute, Aggresive Reaction Unit
Level: Unknown

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 14:15

Really not a fan of romance, especially when we are forced into it. Player has to decide himself which features he wishes to use and which not.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fury



Posts : 215
Join date : 2015-04-17
Age : 19
Location : Sol System - Earth

Character sheet
Name: Nispet
Faction: Cerberus (Enclave)
Level: 65

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 18:22

I truthfully am all for it. Games I remember the most usually involve characters that are fleshed out, you the player can actually bond with a follower(s) or can have some form of deep relationship with one (IE: Mass Effect, or Halo 4). I feel that it makes the player in turn want to invest a lot of time with that companion, play the game more and when something goes wrong the player actually feels a sense of loss in some way or form.

_________________
Quotes:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WykdGrl



Posts : 94
Join date : 2015-04-26
Location : San Francisco

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 21:19

I am all for the romance option so long as actual options exist. The romances in ME and in DAO were great and (for me) really added to the game. Hopefully FO4 will live up to what has been said and there will be multiple options in a wide variety of arrangements. It gives the game more emotional resonance, deeper immersion, and more story (when done well) and I mostly play for the story. So ... yeah ... bring on the romances!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CrimsonPhoenix7



Posts : 129
Join date : 2014-09-01
Age : 27
Location : USA

PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Sun 26 Jul 2015 - 21:59

I'm typically not a big fan of in-game romance. It usually feels shallow and doesn't add anything to the greater game immersion aside from the "fade to black" booty calls.

That said, I think the Fable series has always done a good job with it. You do not only have the "romance," but also visiting and interacting with the family beyond the initial shack-up. That kind of extra step makes the game universe feel bigger to me.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinion on in-game romance?   Today at 16:16

Back to top Go down
 

Opinion on in-game romance?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

 Similar topics

-
» This game sure can be adamant about wanting players to take certain weapons
» The "Who would win?" game
» problem with the game : no control over the moves of the pc
» Worst Video Game You've Ever Played
» Video game addicts, help me pass my class.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-