Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
August 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Pre-Workout

avatar

Posts : 148
Join date : 2016-08-01
Age : 20
Location : United States

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 1:30 am

Hey, what's going on everyone?

Okay, so I had a pretty interesting concept (which I'm sure has been discussed at some point, but regardless) that I wanted to discuss with all of you wonderful people. How would you guys feel about having some sort of super natural aspects incorporated into Fallout?

Allow me to specify what I mean:

Would you guys welcome the appearance of haunted buildings, poltergeists, or apparitions occasionally being spotted in the wasteland that may or may not have evil intent? It wouldn't necessarily have to be anything story related, but something that you might come across in the middle of the night while roaming the wasteland and have the living daylights scared out of you. I know the first thing that will probably come to mind is the Dunwich building in Fallout 3, but I'm talking about something more subtle, but terrifying none the less. I mean using Dunwich as an example, it's quite clear that considering the fact that there was a nuclear holocaust in the United States, it would be very plausible to say that there would be some evil spirits roaming around the wastes. Or maybe, what if you kill an innocent person in the wasteland and you get followed around by a strange presence for a certain period of time? I don't know, I think it would be pretty cool to add something like that into the game while NOT making it a full-on horror game, but let me know what you guys think! Do you think it's a decent idea, or should it stay out of the Fallout series?

_________________
"You know what, Trigger? Why don't you lead and I'll follow."

Back to top Go down
View user profile
superpele

avatar

Posts : 182
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 26
Location : Latvia

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 2:21 am

Meh. Supernatural stuff is too much, since Fallout falls more into sci-fi territory. Fallout 2 had a ghost with a quest though, but it was a one-shot.

One version on how to do it would be like in Metro 2033, with ghosts being only in dark places as moving shadows, but that would be outright stealing from other properties. I'd rather have a supernatural quest where in the end it plays out like Scooby Doo - some guy pranking others for profit.

_________________
My mods for New Vegas:
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MrEggs0925

avatar

Posts : 103
Join date : 2014-12-14
Location : United Igloo's of Canada

Character sheet
Name: Alex
Faction: Enclave
Level: Squad Sigma (I can dream)

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 2:31 am

I personally don't think Fallout expanding into the supernatural area would be such a great idea. Maybe as a small quest like with the Dunwich Building of Fallout 3 or as a one time location like the Dunwich borers of Fallout 4 which was mainly just to bring back memories of older games.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Corvo

avatar

Posts : 814
Join date : 2016-12-17
Location : Dreamscape

Character sheet
Name: Corvo
Faction:
Level: Colonial

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 2:33 am

Yes. I think after all this is a video game and it's not doing any real harm. It may harm the realism, but who plays Fallout for realism? Go play the Sims or some shit if you want that. If anything, it adds to the atmosphere. The Dunwich building was one of my favourite places in Fallout 3, and the quest where you have to burn the book there for the Religious girl in Point Lookout was amazing. If done right, where they don't overemphasize it, it could be a cool addition to the game.

Changing the subject a little, aliens are a big no no for me and my perspective on Fallout. It would be fine if they made cameos in the main game, like a crashed UFO, but we can all agree Mothership Zeta was a piece of shit, and as a Fallout 3 fan I have no problem admitting that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ
Pre-Workout

avatar

Posts : 148
Join date : 2016-08-01
Age : 20
Location : United States

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 3:47 am

@"superpele" Metro 2033 is a great example, actually. I think that's more what I was going for. I thought it would be cool if it wasn't too obvious, but definitely there lingering in the background enough to startle you.

@"corvo" I have to agree; I thought from the beginning that the alien thing was a little to wacky. I thought it would have served as a cool little easter egg if it had simply stayed as just that, and easter egg, but nothing cannon. Zeta truly was a travesty, and I'm extremely happy that Fallout 4 didn't make a Zeta tier DLC.

_________________
"You know what, Trigger? Why don't you lead and I'll follow."

Back to top Go down
View user profile
ChuBBies1

avatar

Posts : 130
Join date : 2016-08-25
Age : 18
Location : Beyond the Sea

Character sheet
Name: I'll think of one later
Faction: Uh, myself?
Level: Level? I don't need no stinking level!

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 5:22 am

Most people when they think of supernatural occurrences in Fallout, they tend to think of only the Dunwich locations or the Zetans, but many people forget about the perk Wild Wasteland from NV. What I loved about that perk is that it included supernatural stuff like aliens( along with funny references), but it was also an optional perk. I'm fine with the future creators of the Fallout series if they want to dabble into the supernatural, but it needs to be something minor, an easter egg of some kind.

_________________
"Time and tide waits for no man" - Geoffrey Chaucer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
IIHawkerII

avatar

Posts : 363
Join date : 2015-03-18
Age : 25
Location : Middle Earth

Character sheet
Name: Conroy El Cadera
Faction: Independant
Level: 49

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 9:35 am

I like having my fallout dose of supernatural horror at a minimum. If I remember right, they usually keep it to one spooky happening per Game / DLC.

Fallout 2: Anna the Ghost
Fallout 3: Dunwich Building
Point Lookout: Necronomicon Ex-Mortis
Fallout: New Vegas: Oddly, I can't think of anything off the top of my head.
Fallout 4: Dunwich Borers
Far Harbor: The Fog Mother
Nuka World: Grandchester Mystery Mansion


_________________


And I find, on my way to death and happiness,
that my heroes, my heroes dress in black.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Psykomanteum

avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2017-05-02
Age : 21
Location : America

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 9:43 am

We already have aliens, so why not more ghosts? I've always liked that Fallout expands into the supernatural (to an extent.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Proudnoob4

avatar

Posts : 47
Join date : 2015-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 3:01 pm

Supernatural aspects was in fallout all the way back in Fallout 2 with that Ghost girl in The Den, so imo Supernatural aspects have as much brevity as aliens or Elvis pictures do

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pre-Workout

avatar

Posts : 148
Join date : 2016-08-01
Age : 20
Location : United States

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu May 11, 2017 11:58 pm

@"IIHawkerII" I suppose having a one supernatural occurrence in each Fallout game does seem to be more established. I could definitely live with that current trend, but I just wish there was a way to make the wastelands spookier, even without supernatural aspects.

_________________
"You know what, Trigger? Why don't you lead and I'll follow."

Back to top Go down
View user profile
superpele

avatar

Posts : 182
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 26
Location : Latvia

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Fri May 12, 2017 1:18 am

I think part of spookier aspect is killed by the Perception skill. It always shows enemies close-by, so there's no way for someone to ambush you and sneaking shows if you're detected. In FNV, especially Lonesome Road, Obsidian went out of their way with spore carriers, tunnelers and marked man, spawning them with triggers to simulate such ambushes (so no wonder LR had one of the better atmospheres). Of course, without perception showing enemies on compass, the skill would be much, much less useful, so take good with the bad I guess.

Contrast to STALKER, where the same thing in my opinion was done much more gracefully - humans blip on your radar, but only the number of their PDAs is shown. Mutants don't show up at all, so you still have to be on your toes at all times. The game also has incredible sound design, something Fallout lacks, with ambient sound and ambient music (inspired by Fallout ironically), which will give you a sense of unease even if you apply meta knowledge and know there shouldn't be any danger.

_________________
My mods for New Vegas:
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wertologist

avatar

Posts : 410
Join date : 2015-09-10
Age : 23

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Fri May 12, 2017 6:49 am

I always welcome horror mods for NV. I love horror. Especially action survival horror. I'd welcome haunted houses or even just ghoul/zombie infested places.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LightSabersEdge

avatar

Posts : 602
Join date : 2017-02-07
Location : United States

Character sheet
Name: Tecon
Faction: Mandalorians
Level: 88

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Fri May 12, 2017 6:52 am

I wouldn't mind it, although I'm not a horror guy I like spooky things here and there, only if it isn't overdone with too much but I could see some cool horror themed quests or something.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lastR4NG3R

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2017-04-28

Character sheet
Name: Last Ranger
Faction: Desert Rangers
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Fri May 12, 2017 3:37 pm

I'm more open to supernatural than the alien Easter eggs in the franchise. Creates more mystery and unknown. Even if it's subtle things, like objects falling off of shelves, faint whispers from nowhere, or a ghostly encounter (visible, or not). My personal favorite's the one at Goodsprings Cemetery in Fallout: New Vegas. Creepy whispers can be heard on the quiet hilltop. Gives me chills... like the dead are cursing you for cheating death where they couldn't.

Oh, and since we're on the subject of the supernatural, there's this really cool ENB for Fallout 4 that builds a sense of dread to The Commonwealth. If you're into anything like Salem Witch Trials, Blair Witch Project, etc., you'll dig this. It even has a custom ambient track and weather system. I'll leave a link below for anyone interested.

Link: http://www.nexusmods.com/fallout4/mods/23845/?

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hoppyhead

avatar

Posts : 807
Join date : 2014-02-25
Age : 38
Location : Behind You...

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Fri May 12, 2017 9:32 pm

I'm not opposed to some Supernatural in Fallout, but keep it small. I love when they have a Lovecraft like reference in the game like Dunwich was mentioned. But keep it to a quest or a building. A myth or Legend of a ghost or monster is fine, but nothing like The World of Darkness.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tyrant

avatar

Posts : 11
Join date : 2016-03-31

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Sun May 14, 2017 2:44 am

^ Agreed. I think having some small elements of the supernatural isn't a bad thing. I think it's great way to illustrate that despite how far civilization had made it before the war there were still some things that were still not fully understood.

I disagree with the seemingly popular opinion that MZ was trash. The idea of existential threat that so few are aware of is actually quite interesting.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
IRORIEH

avatar

Posts : 373
Join date : 2015-04-10
Age : 20
Location : Manchester, England, UK

Character sheet
Name: Booker
Faction: The highest bidder
Level: 21

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Sun May 14, 2017 7:35 am

I like them, when done right.

If they fit within the context, and I can go, yeah it makes sense that there's some creepy shit going on in point lookout, and maybe it does involve that old guy in the wierd ass mansion having a necronomicon type-thingy. And maybe I should take it to the Dunwich Building and return it to the depths of hell. I think they're fine as an aside. I like scary shit so it's fun to throw some of those elements in. I think people who hate on the idea of supernatural elements simply never saw some of the random encounters in the first game. Fallout has always had zany elements in it. They're just not the main content. So long as they remain side quests, I'm fine with that. If they took over the entire game, well, then I'd have a problem, but I see nothing wrong with the amount we got in 3 or 4. New Vegas kind of lacked the Super natural, which sucks becuase I feel the potential for making a Shining style quest up in Jacobstown was severly missed.

That said, Fallout's supernatural elements are grounded within it's reality and that's the way it should remain.

_________________
Muwahahahahahahaha!!!
What do you mean evil laugh!? This is how I always laugh!
Bow Down:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Niik Havod

avatar

Posts : 160
Join date : 2014-11-21
Location : Canada

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Wed May 31, 2017 2:22 pm

I've always loved the small bits of supernatural horror elements in the Fallout series as they always took took me unexpected and made things a lot more interesting. I certainly would not object to more supernatural encounters during my travels in the Wasteland. However, I absolutely agree with IRORIEH that the supernatural aspects shouldn't be heavily involved within the main story or plot of a Fallout game. Random encounters, DLCs, and side quests is where they work best!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Itry3221

avatar

Posts : 188
Join date : 2015-07-03
Age : 20
Location : The Zone

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:45 am

It worked really well for the S.t.a.l.k.e.r. series.

I personally think it would be awesome. Going through lab x-16 was very tense, you had Poltergeists who have gravitational and telekinetic attacks, Pyrogeists spawn fire anomalies and use them to their advantage to kill the player, both can be killed.

For the most part, it's unknown what they are, but they're basically mutants who have telekinetic abilities and cannot be seen until killed.

With the way the government and the Vault-tec corporation liked to do experiments, I think it could work if it wasn't too outrageous.

Lorenzo gained unnatural abilities through an alien artifact while trying to find the lost city of Ubar in Arabia, and he had achieved immortality he was over four hundred years old, and the Cabot family was able to achieve immortality through the use of his blood.

That was one of the more interesting side quests in Fallout 4, and I enjoyed it.

In Metro last light, there's a flashback to a plane crash, where the plane crashes due to a nuclear bomb being dropped. It was very emotional and intense, seeing how the crew and the passengers died.

I think little bits like that could make the game more intense, like Fallout 3's dunwich building how it showed them before they became ghoulified.


_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8NVQ4FQzs4Pbqm8pyYrN8A
Eetterinakki

avatar

Posts : 785
Join date : 2014-07-31
Location : Winland

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:35 pm

I think it would be fine if incorporated as a part of the Wild Wasteland trait. And apart from that, we do have the Mysterious Stranger that is arguably a supernatural presence.

When those come as a result of perks and traits of your character it makes for a more believable gameworld - certain types of characters would experience things like that in the heat of the Wasteland but it wouldn't necessarily be a *inarguable* part of the world.

Meeting a figure such as the Strange Man from Red Dead Redemption (which did this kind of thing really well) would certainly work in the Fallout world as an encounter. Nothing blatantly supernatural like ghosts or anything, but something that is a just a little off enough to confuse and intrigue you, leaving you with questions. It's hard to put it into words but I think you all know what I mean, it needs to be done in a certain way and when done so, it's great.

_________________
A secret message to the chosen ones:
Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?   

Back to top Go down
 

Fallout: Opinion on Super Natural Aspects?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

 Similar topics

-
» My opinion about Super Smash Crusade
» Fallout 3 Super Mutants unarmed?
» Fallout 4 cant get mods to work
» Id Super Pack On Steam
» Monster Land/Super Wolfhell Updates

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-