Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________

Profile Image Guidelines
December 2016
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
AussieShepherd117



Posts : 1022
Join date : 2015-03-30
Age : 23
Location : Top Secret

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:57 pm

me and my Enclave Remnents wiped them out they were easy pickings with XO-1 power armor and plasma weapons

_________________

My Achievements:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gyrard



Posts : 141
Join date : 2015-05-15
Age : 21
Location : California

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:06 pm

VeteranAlpha96 wrote:
@Gyrard wrote:
@BITBUT wrote:
Borderline badass but as everyone knows they're a ideals is that of like of the Nazi.

How are their ideals like the Nazi party's? They fight to preserve technology, not out of some ideal of a "perfect" society and race. While they can and have harmed innocents to further their goals, they do at least attempt to do things peacefully unless the people/organization they're dealing with is in stark contrast to their own. Contrary to popular belief, the Brotherhood does not often shoot non-feral ghouls on sight and if they do, they intentionally miss rather than kill them.

If anything, you should give the Nazi label to the Institute with all the atrocities they perform in the name of science and don't regard outsiders to even be worthy of life.


Well the fact that they will kill anything that lives without it even attacking them kind of makes them like Nazis, example being, take Nick Valentine with you on the Prydwen and they will all swear at him and throw racist comments about how much they hate Synths, i mean like look at.........

Spoiler, dont read unless you finished the game.:
 

You kinda just contradicted yourself there. Notice how they -don't- attack Nick, they specifically order you not to fire on civilians when in vertibirds, they don't attack Diamond City or other settlements, they don't attack the Slog or Goodneighbor, despite it being filled with Ghouls. The Brotherhood of Steel aren't racial supremacists that will kill anything that doesn't look like them. The only people they will shoot on sight are Institute synths and personnel, FERAL ghouls, raiders, gunners, and super mutants, all of which are certifiably dangerous and malevolent.

Concerning Danse, you can persuade Maxson to spare him. You think you could persuade the Nazi party to spare some Jews? (the answer is no)

_________________
"They asked me how well I understood theoretical physics. I said I had a theoretical degree in physics. They said welcome aboard."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Havoc



Posts : 626
Join date : 2014-02-24
Age : 21
Location : Norway

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:27 pm

one thing to add aswell is that they specificly say all super mutants and ferals must be killed/destroyed. They dont go after regular ghouls, they might not like them but they dont outright kill them

_________________
If you have some questions regarding one of my screens fell free to send me a message Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
VeteranAlpha



Posts : 970
Join date : 2015-04-14
Age : 17
Location : London, United Kingdom

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:28 pm

@Gyrard

But the fact that they are just instantly hostile to most people not the attacking them but disrespecting and being rude, kind of tells us that they are just a bit like Nazis. TongueTril

_________________

Steam:
 
My YouTube Channel:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCNteFFVUeKj0xcPSV37tzOg
Gyrard



Posts : 141
Join date : 2015-05-15
Age : 21
Location : California

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:40 pm

VeteranAlpha96 wrote:
@Gyrard

But the fact that they are just instantly hostile to most people not the attacking them but disrespecting and being rude, kind of tells us that they are just a bit like Nazis. TongueTril

Do you think that anyone that acts like a jerk should be compared to the Nazi Party with all the suffering and atrocities they've caused? That's pretty insensitive, not to mention very offensive to some people.

Also, as I said before, it isn't most people. Either you're simply breezing through the game without paying attention to anything or have formed weird conclusions, but the only people the BoS are directly hostile towards are feral ghouls, institute synths and personnel, raiders, gunners, and super mutants. All of those are either malevolent, violent, sociopathic, or some combination of the three, with a few exceptions.

_________________
"They asked me how well I understood theoretical physics. I said I had a theoretical degree in physics. They said welcome aboard."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fidller



Posts : 575
Join date : 2015-07-03
Age : 19
Location : Cyberspace

Character sheet
Name: Hu-mungus
Faction: NCR
Level: 42

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:55 pm

I just think F4's BoS went more back to its Western roots thanks to Maxson but still accepts wastelanders and doesn't hide from everyone and keeps in contact with the Wasteland (trading in diamond city and working with random farms) like he might have learned from Lyons.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lillandoniril



Posts : 139
Join date : 2015-09-09
Age : 16
Location : Sanford, Maine

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:59 pm

I think they have the ability to do a lot of good, which they do, but their prejudices against synths, super mutants and ghouls bother me

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rvelation216



Posts : 96
Join date : 2014-08-19

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:43 pm

Still, cant say walkin about that airship isnt badass :')
Back to top Go down
View user profile
deathcast



Posts : 118
Join date : 2015-11-12
Age : 26
Location : The Motherland

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:28 pm

Airship is great. The people - STOOPID. They're point is to go full HEIL HITLER genicidal against synths. I don't like any faction in this game so yeah

_________________

       Machine Gunner Fight till' the last bullet, Soviet Style. Tommy Gun
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SadisticWizard



Posts : 26
Join date : 2015-11-13
Age : 21
Location : Portland, Oregon

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:37 pm

Miss the outcasts. brotherhoood even more snooty than before, and why does every faction have to to be good, just give me a raider faction. I do like the idea of the Maxson line being restored tho
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Suddenly Psychotic



Posts : 197
Join date : 2015-02-21
Age : 18
Location : Bosnia and Herzegovina

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:50 pm

Spoiler:
 

Sorry for the long post.


_________________
Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
deathcast



Posts : 118
Join date : 2015-11-12
Age : 26
Location : The Motherland

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:51 pm

@Suddenly Psychotic wrote:
Spoiler:
 

Sorry for the long post.


Agree a bit

_________________

       Machine Gunner Fight till' the last bullet, Soviet Style. Tommy Gun
Back to top Go down
View user profile
zirr0m



Posts : 21
Join date : 2016-02-07
Age : 21

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:56 am

I really wanted to like the brotherhood but I had to draw the line with Proctor Teagan's quests to "procure" food from farmers and settlers. I really wanted to like them because I really love their style and aesthetic, but I just couldn't justify the racism and selfishness. It reminded me a bit of the Stormcloaks from Skyrim. I remember reading about some audio files that were found that hinted at a quest that overthrows Maxson that was cut. If that were in the game perhaps I could justify siding with them knowing that when I'm in charge I could steer the brotherhood back to the way they were when Lyon was in charge, but that's purely hypothetical. Here's hoping for a mod or DLC to fix that!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Obdulio



Posts : 244
Join date : 2014-04-13
Age : 29

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:12 pm

Whats with all the Lyon's Brotherhood praise? Everywhere I've gone to Fallout fans absolutely HATE Lyon's Brotherhood.

Personally I never had a problem with them, I always took it as a splinter faction they were with different leadership someone is bound to do it differently some day.

As for what I feel about the FO4's BoS I was shocked that it returned hardcore back to its roots, I guess Maxson agreed more with tradition rather then Lyon's idealistic views.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
zirr0m



Posts : 21
Join date : 2016-02-07
Age : 21

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:09 pm

He gets praise because he wasn't a jerk. He focused the brotherhoods resources into charity and helping people instead of bullying and a racist agenda. I didn't know there were people who didn't like Lyon's brotherhood and I don't understand why they would. Maybe they dislike the brotherhood straying from their normal militristic nature, but that feels like an odd reason. Maybe more people roll that kinda play through than I thought. I really don't know
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cordelionreaver



Posts : 87
Join date : 2015-04-01

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Feb 10, 2016 4:17 am

The BOS in 4 are more in line with the BOS in the original Fallouts.

They were never about protecting people, they were about safeguarding technology.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
xuanviet122



Posts : 193
Join date : 2015-07-10
Age : 22
Location : Internet (ba dum tss)

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:27 am

beside FO3 ( the Elder Lyons squad ), they're basically tech freaks, it's all about retrieving the technology of the old world, not about protecting people

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rvelation216



Posts : 96
Join date : 2014-08-19

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Feb 10, 2016 4:20 pm

I dont really get how Maxson turned out as brutal as he is when he had Lyons for a mentor, you'd think with being around him for so long he'd have followed that path
Back to top Go down
View user profile
geminispark262



Posts : 361
Join date : 2015-11-01
Age : 21
Location : Somewhere on the Earth

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:58 pm

I love Lyon and the BoS under his commend, but I have to admit that under Maxson's order shows what they always have been since the foundation of BoS.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
zirr0m



Posts : 21
Join date : 2016-02-07
Age : 21

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:17 pm

@"Rvelation216" according to the wiki (specifically Maxson's page) after Sarah Lyons death the east coast brotherhood had a leadership crisis and nearly collapsed until they re-established a link with the west coast brotherhood. The west coast brotherhood's elders then appointed Maxson as elder of the east coast at the age of 16. Their goal was to get the east coast back on track to its original objective, so they appointed Maxson, descendent of the original founder of the brotherhood. Considering that it makes sense why he would refocus the brotherhood back into hoarding tech.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood   Today at 8:10 am

Back to top Go down
 

Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 Similar topics

-
» Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel
» Opinions on fallout 4 brotherhood
» Anyone played Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel
» Who do you beat Fallout new vegas with?
» The side you've picked in Fallout 4 [spoilers]

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-