Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarInterviewsFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
Stay Connected

_
May 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 optics of new vegas opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
teegfonv

avatar

Posts : 318
Join date : 2015-02-04
Age : 25

PostSubject: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 5:54 pm

Hey guys, so I've been seeing this new mod, optics of new vegas (by subnerocl, printerkop, milenia, and naky) wihch adds a better scope system to the scoped weapons within the game. Have any of you used this mod? If so, are you enjoying it? For me and what I have seen it is worth the download, but I like to hear opinions first, but I know that the vanilla scope system was kinda janky. How are you likeing this mod? Does it make the use of scoped weapons better, and more immersive?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Xilandro

avatar

Posts : 145
Join date : 2014-03-04
Age : 28
Location : Darkest corners of the G.E.C.K.

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:10 pm

OONV is definitely worth trying. Yet there are few downsides.  It's pretty much incompatible with lots of other mods. And aiming: zoom time is a bit odd, game fov changes too fast, and only then - gun fov kicks in, looks weird (at least for me). And most noticeable thing - it's scripted texture change for scopes. I don't like it. There's literally no point for it. Sub already changed weapons in geck, so changing the texture inside FormID would do a better job than swap on the fly, and would look better. Other than that - good mod.

_________________
Evaluate, adapt, destroy
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/wtf81293
weijiesen

avatar

Posts : 105
Join date : 2015-01-28
Location : Hongkong

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:48 pm

"it's scripted texture change for scopes."

why? what texture is being changed, and for what reason?

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Xilandro

avatar

Posts : 145
Join date : 2014-03-04
Age : 28
Location : Darkest corners of the G.E.C.K.

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:50 pm

@weijiesen wrote:
why? what texture is being changed, and for what reason?
scope texture. Don't ask me why. If it was my mod - I would make it in different way, so I have no idea why Sub did it via scripted swap.

_________________
Evaluate, adapt, destroy
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/wtf81293
MrPezza

avatar

Posts : 58
Join date : 2014-04-06
Age : 27
Location : Poseidon's Court

Character sheet
Name: The Lion
Faction: Horizon Military Solutions
Level: -

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:19 pm

@Xilandro wrote:
 It's pretty much incompatible with lots of other mods.

Had a brief look at OONV to be honest, just to see what the fuss was all about. I kind of thought the same thing, add to that the fact that I've already replaced all of the weapons in game with Shifu's gear, I kind of realised that I'd gain nothing from using this mod as is anyway.

I'm also guessing that by the very nature of OONV, it's going to directly conflict with the recoil system that you were showing off for B42 as well?

_________________
BELLA GERANT ALII

XIV VII MCMXC
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Xilandro

avatar

Posts : 145
Join date : 2014-03-04
Age : 28
Location : Darkest corners of the G.E.C.K.

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:22 pm

@MrPezza wrote:
 I'm also guessing that by the very nature of OONV, it's going to directly conflict with the recoil system that you were showing off for B42 as well?
No, it will not conflict at all. All my features are made with compatibility in mind. The only thing that will be incompatible with B42 is enhanced camera mod.

_________________
Evaluate, adapt, destroy
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/wtf81293
snowglobecollector



Posts : 1206
Join date : 2014-11-02
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:32 pm

What? No compatibility with Enhanced camera? :O anyway I am sure B42 will be worth uninstalling enhanced camera,but I will miss it Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Xilandro

avatar

Posts : 145
Join date : 2014-03-04
Age : 28
Location : Darkest corners of the G.E.C.K.

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:35 pm

snowglobecolector wrote:
What? No compatibility with Enhanced camera? :O anyway I am sure B42 will be worth uninstalling enhanced camera,but I will miss it Sad
Blame LogicDragon. We (me and hitman and many other people) PMed him to make some functions to turn his mod on and off through scripts, or make it compatible with custom animations. He always reply "sorry, I don't think it's possible, and I'm busy with other project". So we don't care anymore. I like ench cam mod, I really do, but I'm not a C++ programmer, I can't fix it. So he'll end up with comment section full of "it's incompatible with B42! Do something".

_________________
Evaluate, adapt, destroy
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/wtf81293
MaxoftheRocks

avatar

Posts : 96
Join date : 2015-02-25
Age : 21
Location : London

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:21 pm

I love the mod. It's definitely a keeper IMO, adds more immersion to the game.
I've always wanted a mod like it, SR Optics just didn't do it for me as great as it is. It's too 2D and doesn't actually feel like you're looking through a sight. So that's where this mod comes in haha.

Yep, great mod. Hats off to SuBNeRoCL!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TheHermit

avatar

Posts : 1549
Join date : 2014-05-22
Age : 33
Location : No Place Nowhere

Character sheet
Name: Goofknuckle
Faction: Unaffliated
Level: N/A

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:09 pm

I'm currently testing it for, Sub. For the most part it works and it works well. There are a few issues being ironed out, but he fixes things pretty quickly. It's found a permanant place in my load order. Like Xil said, I can't understand the need for scripts myself. It does look a little odd sometimes during transition. I think he will make it compatible with your big weapons mods soon. He's just workin on vanilla and dlc first.

_________________


MY MODS:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/c/TheHermit
kent1100

avatar

Posts : 143
Join date : 2015-03-23
Age : 24
Location : White City

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:23 pm

Great events, gives a realistic game. If there are any problems with it and it soroka Rimayer made a similar fashion (s.r.optiсs). He, too bad, I suggest.

_________________
Dictum - Factum
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://modgames.net
zollom

avatar

Posts : 34
Join date : 2015-03-22
Age : 28
Location : Argentine

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:49 pm

I'm really hoping he can make his mod compatible with Project Nevada.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pragmatic2012

avatar

Posts : 9
Join date : 2014-11-11

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:38 am

im probably thread necro'ing by making this post but is there an English installation guide for SR Optics???
Back to top Go down
View user profile
fallouter

avatar

Posts : 459
Join date : 2015-06-06
Age : 22
Location : Earth

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Mon Jul 27, 2015 1:31 pm

Dang, never even heard of this mod guess I'm going to have to download it too now. I've never really noticed the scope system in the default game but im sure with todays tech people can enhance it like crazy! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
patrikfroman

avatar

Posts : 202
Join date : 2015-06-14
Age : 26
Location : Sweden

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Mon Jul 27, 2015 1:44 pm

Not worth it to me since it doesnt work with new guns from mods. Otherwise it looks great.

_________________
Intel Core i7 6700k - 4.4GHz
ASUS Z170 gaming pro motherboard
Corsair Vengeance 16GB 3000MHZ DDR4 RAM
EVGA GTX 980 Classified 1.5GHz OC
Samsung 840 pro 120gb SSD
Samsung 840 EVO 500gb SSD
Seagate 1tb HDD
Corsair RM850 PSU
2x ASUS 24" 1080p monitor
1x DELL 27" 1440p monitor
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AdayDr1en

avatar

Posts : 600
Join date : 2014-02-24
Age : 26
Location : Global

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Mon Jul 27, 2015 2:03 pm

@patrikfroman wrote:
Not worth it to me since it doesnt work with new guns from mods. Otherwise it looks great.

"Not worth it to me since it doesnt work with new guns from mods."

That's not a fault of the author's. Just because something came out, doesn't mean everyone will produce newer content with it in mind.

Some may not like it. That's no one's fault, really. Can't judge someone for not liking something.

I personally don't use it because the blur it has gives me a headache. Otherwise, I'd use it. I appreciate the effort put into the concept of it, though. I just can't ever use it. Just looking at the screenshots of it makes my head ache. Same with the videos.

I don't even see why it was put out, considering all the low quality optic models and visual quality of blur it has.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The author of this message was banned from the forum - See the message
Lôke-khan K.B.

avatar

Posts : 1022
Join date : 2016-02-08
Age : 22
Location : Gdansk, Poland

Character sheet
Name: Bronx
Faction: NCR
Level: 77

PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   Mon May 16, 2016 5:26 pm

Some time ago I used Optics of New Vegas, a very good mod, but after a while I realized that this mod littering my queue loading mods, because occasionally I used vanilla weapons. Generally cool, but there are so many good weapon mods, so I already do not use it.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: optics of new vegas opinions   

Back to top Go down
 

optics of new vegas opinions

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-