Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Star

avatar

Posts : 524
Join date : 2017-06-08
Age : 16
Location : Ukraine, Kiev

Character sheet
Name: Star
Faction: Brotherhood Of Steel
Level: Sentinel-Captain

PostSubject: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:34 pm

I played recently the "Point Lookout" DLC and achieved both endings (good and bad). I liked Desmond, he is well-written character and looks badass. Plot is good, but it little short.
Weapons are well-made, NPC's are looking aesthetic (especially enemy folks).
What can you say about this DLC?

_________________

My Achievments:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.facebook.com/anton.slavik.792
rojok2

avatar

Posts : 267
Join date : 2014-03-14
Location : Raven Rock

Character sheet
Name: Johan
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 25

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:34 pm

I think point lookout is my second favorite fallout 3 dlc after broken steel, love the swamp theme and the occult themes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
shocksword

avatar

Posts : 15
Join date : 2017-08-04
Location : Cats.

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:09 pm

I loved the whole dlc, i have completed it twice on console and might do the same for pc. The whole swamp vibe was nothing like fallout 3, along with the whole swampfolk and Krivbeknih things.

The only thing i didn't like was the whole not having a centralized city thing, mostly because the main trader in the first place you arrive at - dont know her name - died with the first time i appeared there and i couldn't revive her because i was a console scrub at the time.

oh and Ruzka the wonder bear was cute!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Corvo

avatar

Posts : 966
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Dreamscape

Character sheet
Name: Corvo
Faction:
Level: Colonial

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:27 pm

I'm one of the guys who think Far Harbor is superior to Point Lookout, even though they are somewhat similar. Far Harbor was just way more interesting and an overall improvement over what was already established in Point Lookout. Point Lookout has no real nods to the main story, it's story was somewhat linear and obvious and it was pretty void of all human life besides the merchants and vendors you can find.

Despite Point Lookout being one of the most popular DLC, it didn't strike me as anything noteworthy or even better than DLC like Lonesome Road or Old World Blues. Overall it was shockingly lacking despite it being "one of the best Fallout DLC ever". The antagonists were quite black and white and there weren't any characters that had depth, possibly being because there weren't many characters at all for the exception of a few side quests. The writing wasn't too spectacular and it left a bitter taste for me after I played it. It's not a terrible DLC, it's just quite boring and uninteresting. There's no real reason why the Lone Wanderer should side with Desmond or Calbert because of some petty rivalry, remember his main goal is to rescue Nadine, right? The DLC just sidelined that whole objective to railroad you onto the main story.

The locations, however, the overall map and it's sidequests, were amazing. I really enjoyed exploring more than I did many other DLC maps. The atmosphere made the DLC somewhat spooky and gripping, like I was watching my back at all times for swampfolk. On that note, the enemies were freaky. The swampfolk remind me of something Wes Craven would create. The occult sidequests were interesting a fascinating addition to the DLC, and I loved it.

Now although this DLC is regarded as one of the greats, I think it's highly overrated. In my opinion, it's only slightly better than Honest Hearts or Dead Money. Far Harbor is a way more interesting DLC with a larger map, more interesting characters, a more gripping plot and atmosphere that blow Point Lookout out of the water. Not only that, but Point Lookout only really expanded upon what Fallout 3 had already created, whereas Far Harbor fixed what Fallout 4 lacked and expanded upon it. While Point Lookout feels like more Fallout 3, Far Harbor feels drastically different from Fallout 4 from the RPG elements to the overarching plotline that keeps in touch with Fallout 4 somewhat. I mean, just compare a character like Desmond or Calbert to Dima or Tektus. Far Harbor has grey moral areas while Point Lookout has a typical black and white scenario. The voice acting in Far Harbor crushed the voice acting in Point Lookout.

Point Lookout is great for exploration and survival, but it's mostly just a overrated POS in nearly every other aspect, and that's coming from me, and I actually like the DLC. Far Harbor was an improvement upon this DLC in nearly every aspect. It's like Bethesda learned what Point Lookout and The Pitt  did great, learned what Fallout 4 fell short of, and made up for that with Far Harbor.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ
ChuBBies1

avatar

Posts : 140
Join date : 2016-08-25
Age : 18
Location : Beyond the Sea

Character sheet
Name: I'll think of one later
Faction: Uh, myself?
Level: Level? I don't need no stinking level!

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 13, 2017 5:15 am

I remember when I bought my copy of FO3 GOTY on PS4. I was so excited because I hadn't played Fallout 3 in over 3 years. My original Fallout 3 was on Xbox and was just a regular Vanilla game with no DLC. This purchase made me so excited to not only get back into the Capital Wasteland, but to also play content I had never before seen. Surprisnigly( not really), I loved Point Lookout and the rest of the DLCs.

Now some people may call me a fanboy, which I'm not. Fallout has had it's share of bugs and downright stupid decisions. Point Lookout, however, is and will never be a stupid decision. The location is just so unique. A swamp. That really surprised me when I first went to Far Harbor. I was so used to the Mad Max feeling of DC that this change of pace really did me some good. Shooting mutant swamp dwellers, chinese internment camps, crazy tribals, what's not to love?!

My overall opinion is that it was a really well made DLC with an interesting setting.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PROROOK363

avatar

Posts : 499
Join date : 2015-07-10

Character sheet
Name: Shiromara
Faction: Wild Card
Level: 16

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:57 am

I loved Point Lookout.

It had a terrifying atmosphere, stronger enemies, an interesting quest, challenging battles, and established continuity with the main quest.

_________________


"It's how hard you're able to strike even long after the music stops."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lucianhector

avatar

Posts : 642
Join date : 2015-02-16
Age : 25
Location : England

Character sheet
Name: Lucian
Faction: Outer Heaven
Level:

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:50 am

Fallout 3 never kept me interested long enough to try Point Lookout, but with this new version of TTW on the horizon and these decent reviews, I'll be sure to go back to the capital wasteland to try it out

_________________
--------------------

Flickr | YouTube | Nexus |

--------------------
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Visible Earth

avatar

Posts : 188
Join date : 2016-10-24

Character sheet
Name: Jason
Faction: Freeside
Level: 12

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:43 pm

I've always been a little disappointed that the Swampfolk haven't seemed to be ported into New Vegas as NPCs or enemies. There need to be more noticeably mutated people walk around. Like Harold in Fallout. It's boring for literally everyone to be in perfect physical condition.

_________________
"It's 106 miles to Arroyo, we've got a full fusion cell, half a pack of RadAway, it's midnight, and I'm wearing a 50 year old Vault 13 jumpsuit. Let's hit it."

Back to top Go down
View user profile
FafnirEtherion

avatar

Posts : 591
Join date : 2015-06-14
Age : 19
Location : France

Character sheet
Name: Julien
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 29

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:59 pm

I loved that DLC ! I reminded me of Evil Dead, The Blair Witch Project and other horror flick because of it's foggy setting. The main quest was not the best, but I enjoyed every other one.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lone

avatar

Posts : 101
Join date : 2016-11-24
Age : 18
Location : My little corner.

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:54 am

When I played it for the first time I enjoyed the swampy atmosphere and those run down harbor buildings. The quests were interesting like the one where you follow an old Chinese spy's mission or that part where you get drugged and see those schmault-tec bobbleheads, that encounter alone definitely makes this one of my more favoured DLCs.

It's definitely one of the more solid DLCs but playing through it now after so many times it does feel like a chore. Though I suppose you could say that about a lot of things in Fallout.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jacob May

avatar

Posts : 197
Join date : 2017-06-20
Age : 22
Location : right behind you

Character sheet
Name: Heretic
Faction: legion of the dead
Level: 27

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:11 am

i think it was better then far horber from fallout 4 but i just wish i was longer

_________________
You should have dug deeper


i try to Always say thank you
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?showuser=5975455
Kaiser Atlas

avatar

Posts : 525
Join date : 2017-06-02
Age : 17
Location : Land of the Brave

Character sheet
Name: Kaiser Atlas
Faction: No gods, no masters.
Level: My Own

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:31 pm

i thoroughly enjoyed it for some reason

_________________

Banner and Avatar made by Star - ''Star's Workshop''
“Why do we argue? Life's so fragile, a successful virus clinging to a speck of mud, suspended in endless nothing.”
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Garska

avatar

Posts : 401
Join date : 2017-06-16
Age : 17
Location : France, or Azeroth

Character sheet
Name: Vaubeil
Faction: New California Republic
Level: Who care ?

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:35 pm

I loved it, it was a really good DLC, and well written !

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
stoobygacks

avatar

Posts : 298
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 97
Location : I'm not that old, I wish I was.

Character sheet
Name: Pvt. Cooper
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 4

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:38 pm

I think that Point Lookout's greatest feature was the location. The foggy marshes, old mansions, a civil war battlefield, and some creepy tunnels made it a great DLC. The swampfolk were creepy as all hell, and the 200+ years of radiation and inbreeding didn't help them out. I loved all the little places to explore for them, like the tunnels were they worship the Lovecraft gods. The story was a neat one too. I liked that battle between the two pre-war minds, the odd hallucinations, getting back a piece of your brain and so one. The little additions of the pre-war internment camp and the Chinese submarine were also little fun places to explore as well. Overall I found the DLC to be a fun one. It added a very atmospheric location, great characters and places to explore, and of course the most important: Great loot to take back. If anyone has not played it, I highly recommend getting it.

_________________
swiggitty swooty I'm coming for that booty
                                               -George Washington
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Timeseeker

avatar

Posts : 777
Join date : 2016-03-26
Age : 21
Location : Gallifrey

Character sheet
Name: Blues
Faction: Brotherhood of Steel
Level: ∞

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:40 pm

I enjoyed Point Lookout but not as much as I had hoped I would. The setting had so much potential, but a lot of it was squandered. Regardless, I enjoyed all of it until the ending. The ending was pretty bullshit.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://rednegade.tumblr.com
stoobygacks

avatar

Posts : 298
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 97
Location : I'm not that old, I wish I was.

Character sheet
Name: Pvt. Cooper
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 4

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:44 pm

@Corvo It was made sometime before Far Harbor, so for its time it was great, and still is. Far Harbor was made on a new engine, with new texture on a new generation of consoles and more powerful PCs. I don't think its really fair to compare something that is so old to something that clearly looks better and runs better.

_________________
swiggitty swooty I'm coming for that booty
                                               -George Washington
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Corvo

avatar

Posts : 966
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Dreamscape

Character sheet
Name: Corvo
Faction:
Level: Colonial

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:20 pm

@stoobygacks If I mentioned Point Lookout's visuals and stability, I didn't mean to, and I never intended it to be a point against the DLC, but from what I can tell my post seemed to talk about the writing, setting and how it compares to Far Harbor.

Also I don't think running better would be a point for Far Harbor anyway be it that Bethesda uses the same engine pretty much with slight adjustments and there's no way in hell Bethesda are going to make a game that runs as well as Grand Theft Auto 5 or the original Dishonored, on PC especially. Given that their most stable game is Skyrim (and even that had issues on PCs at launch), I don't think that comparing stability among Beth games is wise.

Far Harbor pretty much crushed Point Lookout imo. Point Lookout is better than a lot of the DLC they create, but still not enough to regard it as better than the rest of the FO3 DLC, most of the New Vegas DLC or Far Harbor, but after all, that's just my humble opinion on the DLC.

_________________


Last edited by Corvo on Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:19 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ
Distortion

avatar

Posts : 552
Join date : 2015-12-20
Age : 24
Location : Bellevue Nebraska

Character sheet
Name: Distortion
Faction: of none of your damn business
Level: two fitty

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:19 am

Tried point lookout and wasn't all too impressed with it honestly. Granted it has been sometime since i have played point lookout. Possibly playing it with TTW and an ENB might make it seem much more vivid and detailed of a DLC. Other than that i just remember speeding through it and not liking it very much.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chromesthesia

avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2015-05-23
Age : 19
Location : Wales

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:04 pm

I remember when I first played Point Lookout. I was young and honestly scared.
I don't think I left the pier for an hour before heading out.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JJHughes

avatar

Posts : 1066
Join date : 2015-02-15
Age : 17
Location : Home

Character sheet
Name: John
Faction: Lone Wolf
Level: Work In Progress

PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:45 pm

To this day, Point lookout remains one of my favourite DLC's in any fallout game, I'll admit I played and finished it before even touching the fallout 3 story any more than I had to, so for nostalgia sake It was my first real taste of a meaningful faction system and one of the few games at the time I was always eager to play.

It was a shame I never got to see the Hughes gang, that could have been a ton of fun

I think point lookout (and far harbor for that matter) make me want apocalypse games set in the south, there's something engaging about the atmosphere in both compared to the commonwealth and capital wasteland.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: [F3] Opinion on Point Lookout   

Back to top Go down
 

[F3] Opinion on Point Lookout

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

 Similar topics

-
» 1000 Point Grey Knights Army
» 2000 point skaven list
» 2000 or 2500 point Khorne Assult Army
» What is the current point norm? 1750, 1850, 2000?
» 1500 Point Salamander Army

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-