Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Opinions on Honest Hearts

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
stoobygacks

avatar

Posts : 298
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 97
Location : I'm not that old, I wish I was.

Character sheet
Name: Pvt. Cooper
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 4

PostSubject: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:41 am

Afternoon GUNers!
I really enjoyed the DLC! I thought it had some of the best writing I have every seen. Joshua Graham's dialog and voice acting was phenomenal. I found that his old testament references made his character seem like someone who was literally forged in fire, and was zealous in his love for God and his tribe. His references to Zion and the tribes of the old testament was a very well written way of the justification for the tribes to be in Zion valley. Danial's character was very well voiced and provided a nice contrast to Graham's warlike and almost hatefull nature. The tribal characters like Waking Cloud and the every slightly annoying Fallows Chalk were good as well.

I really loved the location of Zion. My girlfriend and I have hiked Zion, and I never told her that Fallout had inspired me to actually see the canyon (I am such a nerd). The red rock, the trees and the little caves to explore made the game location just as beautiful as the one IRL. The additional tragic story of vault 22 and Randall Clark was small and touching. How he killed many of the sick dwellers, but then went on to fall in love with one of a girl, only for her to die. And how Clark went on to look over survivors after. I feel that the story ties many ends with mentioned characters in the vanilla game such as who the burning man is, The Whitelegs, and New Canaan. It just adds a so much story and lore to the world of New Vegas.

The DLC added lots of good loot too. Like the Survivalist's Rifle, Thompson SMG, and Colt .45. As well as nice weapons and armor that had pretty good stats too. I wish that the DLC would have some more side quests though, it all just felt very short. But it was just a DLC afterall and not a huge addition.

tl;dr What does GUN think of Honest hearts? Do you like the characters, story, and loot? Have you ever been to Zion? I highly recommend going if you can. What are you thoughts on the DLC as a whole?

Wise Words:
 

_________________
swiggitty swooty I'm coming for that booty
                                               -George Washington
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Banewrath

avatar

Posts : 205
Join date : 2017-07-30
Age : 44
Location : Philadelphia

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:39 am

I felt it was very short compared to some others. I wasn`t too crazy over the story. Josh was a neat character that could have given more quests and been more of a part of it. A legion force could have returned and you coulda had to band everyone together and unify them to fight. Struck some deals. Have actualy dialogue with the hostile natives to find out what their side of the story was. Felt empty to me.

I truly only went there to get the guns and get out ASAP.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Corvo

avatar

Posts : 966
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Dreamscape

Character sheet
Name: Corvo
Faction:
Level: Colonial

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:04 am

I thought that the dialogue in Honest Hearts with Graham was phenomenal, but I hated how short and lacking the actual DLC was. In my opinion, it has the best written dialogue in New Vegas, but it had no noteworthy characters apart from Graham. There was a lot of lost potential with Happy Trails caravan, as the characters like Jed Masterson were voiced brilliantly but lacked screen time before they got killed.

The story felt a bit disappointing. You had to help some tribe you never really cared about and you can't join the enemy faction at all. There's only two endings and only one of them puts a fair ending to Honest Hearts. The quests were mostly just fetch quests and "kill some wild animals" quests so I found it very lacking. Zion was empty and there wasn't really much to do at all.

In my opinion it's one of the worst DLCs in the modern Fallout games, right up there with Nuka World, Gun Runners Arsenal and Mothership Zeta.


_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ
Chinpoko117

avatar

Posts : 165
Join date : 2014-10-28
Age : 21
Location : Florida

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:07 am

As a person of Native American descent - half if you wanna get technical - I found a bit of an appreciation for the tribal theme of the DLC.

Joshua Graham has to be my favorite character from the DLC I would have to say, his voice is just too damn awesome. His custom .45 is one of the best pistols in the game imo, which funnily enough John Browning was also from Utah and a Mormon, the same practice the New Canaanites follow. I think Joshua even references the man himself if I recall correctly.


As for Randal Clark, I found his story to be pretty touching, of how he became the 'Father' to the children that would later become the Sorrows. His life was full of much regret, guilt and misery but in the end, that old dinosaur found a reason to smile one last time before his cancer claimed him, knowing those kids would take his lessons to heart and be good to one another, ultimately shaping their future as pacifists.

Honest Hearts is an over-all great DLC. I may not hold it in the same pedestal as Dead Money or Lonesome Road, but it was nonetheless a good piece of Fallout. Josh Sawyer did a fantastic job on the writing.

_________________
"My stardust..."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ChuBBies1

avatar

Posts : 140
Join date : 2016-08-25
Age : 18
Location : Beyond the Sea

Character sheet
Name: I'll think of one later
Faction: Uh, myself?
Level: Level? I don't need no stinking level!

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:49 am

I have to say the overall DLC for NV was just phenomenal. The dark and decrypted Sierra Madre was so interesting ( yes I enjoyed this DLC, fight me. Jk don't fight me, I love you guys lol) that reminded me so much of the movie Treasure of the Sierra Madre. Old World Blues was a masterpiece with all the crazy and zany experiments that was so reminiscent to the old Sci-fi movies. Lonesome Road was an amazing send off which truly made you feel like an honest to God badass. Now my opinion on Honest Hearts.

It was a really fun DLC with so much potential, sadly it could have done a lot more. I loved the character of Joshua Graham and the whole Mormon overtones. The weapons like the 1911, Thompson, and The Survivals Rifle were fine additions to the game. However, quest were mainly just fetch quests whose only purpose was to have you explore the map. I'm not saying that there shouldn't be an incentive to explore, just that that was not a good way to go about it. Also, if you were a Legion character, there really wasn't much you could do to help the White Legs. It just reminded me of the Enclave in FO3 where their whole purpose was just to be targets for your character to shoot. I believe that enemies should at least be more fleshed out.

I'm not hating on the DLC and I always end up playing it, I just think there was a lot more that could've been done.

_________________
"Time and tide waits for no man" - Geoffrey Chaucer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PresidentWalru5

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2014-12-24

Character sheet
Name:
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:41 pm

Personally I really enjoyed it, it was a nice setting and I liked how it focused on the different tribes and more to survival and different animals that inhabited there too. It was a nice change to the Mojave and the story behind Joshua Graham was really well done, his character in game was voiced superbly and the new additions to armour and weapons worked out really well in my opinion.
@Banewrath mentioned it earlier up but I agree that it was way too short, I would have liked more to do there and some more variety to it. But overall I did enjoy it a lot, wasn’t my worst DLC out of all of them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Star

avatar

Posts : 524
Join date : 2017-06-08
Age : 16
Location : Ukraine, Kiev

Character sheet
Name: Star
Faction: Brotherhood Of Steel
Level: Sentinel-Captain

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:52 pm

I've enjoyed this DLC because of Joshua Graham. He is well-written character which mentioned by various characters (Vulpes, Lanius, Lucius, Hanlon) by his new name Burned Man which is rule in Legion.
But like @Corvo said, this DLC lacks of time and its short, unique weapons are great. In shortness this DLC could be compaired with Lonesome Road. Only Dead Money have long and hardcorish experience.

I can give overall mark 6.5/10; just only because of time lacking and short story without intresting quests.

_________________

My Achievments:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.facebook.com/anton.slavik.792
Maurice Schimansky

avatar

Posts : 13
Join date : 2017-07-01
Location : Hannover, Germany

Character sheet
Name: Courier 6
Faction: NCR/Indipendant
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:29 pm

I love Honest Hearts! The Characters, The loot and the world..all assets are great and were good used. Its my 2nd fav DLC of New Vegas. There's just one thing what I didn't like about HH. That's the amount of Content. It's very short imo. I think that HH deserves a bit more content. More quests, some more characters and one or two more uniques.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lucianhector

avatar

Posts : 642
Join date : 2015-02-16
Age : 25
Location : England

Character sheet
Name: Lucian
Faction: Outer Heaven
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:07 pm

Joshua Graham makes this DLC for me, without him I don't think I'd be too interested in it

_________________
--------------------

Flickr | YouTube | Nexus |

--------------------
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RangerGUN

avatar

Posts : 25
Join date : 2017-02-15
Age : 17
Location : United Kingdom

Character sheet
Name: Connor
Faction: Yes Man
Level: 50

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:46 pm

I like Honest Hearts a lot. Joshua, Daniel, Follows-Chalk and Waking Cloud are very well written, especially Joshua Graham since he was apart of the Legion and was one of the reasons why it started and how Caeser gained so much power. I think the story though is a bit lack luster, go there and pick 'X' up, but the world and the enemies keep it entertaining so I don't mind. I think this DLC needed more quests, there aren't that many but the quests there are pretty damn good. I mean I would just have five good quests than twenty quests with one or two being the only good ones, I'm looking at you Fallout 4.
Good thing someone made a mod to make Joshua a permanent companion because it's damn shame you never see him again after you complete the story.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kaiser Atlas

avatar

Posts : 525
Join date : 2017-06-02
Age : 17
Location : Land of the Brave

Character sheet
Name: Kaiser Atlas
Faction: No gods, no masters.
Level: My Own

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:25 pm

i found the story bland, but i adore zion canyon, and some of the armors the DLC adds, not to mention the .45 Auto Pistol is my favorite weapon. so i guess i quite like it, but not for the story

_________________

Banner and Avatar made by Star - ''Star's Workshop''
“Why do we argue? Life's so fragile, a successful virus clinging to a speck of mud, suspended in endless nothing.”
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TitanTheDirewolf

avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2016-06-19
Age : 16
Location : The United Kingdom

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:46 am

I liked it, but I couldn't say I enjoyed it as much as the other DLCs. The story was a bit too bland for me, but Joshua Graham really helped improve that experience as he was well written, and the entire lore behind him just helped this work.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GenJohnWilliam

avatar

Posts : 371
Join date : 2014-10-30
Age : 17
Location : hopefully the after life

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:15 am

i like it mostly cause its has a nice wilderness survival vibe to it i liked all the new campfire recipes not to mention when you get the dust mod zion canyon is fucking hell literally Thumbs Up
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Distortion

avatar

Posts : 552
Join date : 2015-12-20
Age : 24
Location : Bellevue Nebraska

Character sheet
Name: Distortion
Faction: of none of your damn business
Level: two fitty

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:20 am

I always liked playing Honest Hearts for some reason. It wasn't that great of a DLC but, still enjoy playing it for some reason. Getting into a new world that i can explore and take away the fact i can't have all the powerful important weapons i want that i really have to choose armors and weapons carefully since the weight limit they give you. Plus dealing with tribals and having to work with the land to stay alive. The limited supplies forces you to be resourceful. Also, seeing the burned man, joshua graham, is also a plus because he rekts face.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
commissar197

avatar

Posts : 91
Join date : 2015-04-24
Age : 19
Location : Texas

Character sheet
Name: Mikalov Ybma
Faction: Minuteman Empire
Level: 19

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:11 am

The beginning ambush was brutal and surprising, I expected the story to be more action packed, dramatic, lots of fighting and a war smaller but just as exciting as the NCR-Legion War, but after that ambush it kinda disappointed me from then on.
None of the characters really interested me and I barely even remember most of them or what happened compared to the other dlcs which I liked and remember better, most of the fighting was against animals and I only remember the quests just being time-consuming fetch quests.
My favorite part of the dlc was the new weapons, after I finished it I had no desire to go back or replay it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wishbone452!?

avatar

Posts : 31
Join date : 2016-09-27
Location : US

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:24 pm

@"Chinpoko117" I found the same kind of appreciation and just having a break from apocalyptic nevada was a nice fresh breath most games overlook. The natives prospering in a sense is really ironic to me because its alittle too true to how it would be for us if it happened irl. All in all good dlc some say short but there is plenty to optionally do. Asides its the trail in a sense XD not the ending.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jacob May

avatar

Posts : 197
Join date : 2017-06-19
Age : 22
Location : right behind you

Character sheet
Name: Heretic
Faction: legion of the dead
Level: 27

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:33 am

i liked the burned man he was cool as for the story ...i forgot it not kiding i shoud replay it

_________________
You should have dug deeper


i try to Always say thank you
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?showuser=5975455
kuromuts

avatar

Posts : 130
Join date : 2014-06-10
Location : Novac, Mojave Wasteland

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:17 am

Kaiser Atlas wrote:
i found the story bland, but i adore zion canyon, and some of the armors the DLC adds, not to mention the .45 Auto Pistol is my favorite weapon. so i guess i quite like it, but not for the story

The fact that my constant Fo4 loadout is a sniper rifle and a .45 "A Light Shinning in Darkness" animated by Ha_ru tells how much I miss Zion Canyon. Joshua and the Survivalist is some characters that leaves a mark on you
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Honest Hearts   

Back to top Go down
 

Opinions on Honest Hearts

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» What are your thoughts on Honest Hearts?
» Kingdom Hearts Fans, prepare to murder me!!!
» kingdom hearts font!
» Pandora Hearts Alice-Tan chibi
» state of officiating: opinions

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-