Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
October 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

Which mod did you like more?
DUST
73%
 73% [ 8 ]
FROST
27%
 27% [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 11
 

AuthorMessage
stoobygacks

avatar

Posts : 298
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 97
Location : I'm not that old, I wish I was.

Character sheet
Name: Pvt. Cooper
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 4

PostSubject: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:23 am

The question is simple I suppose. What does GUN think about Naugrim's FROST mod? What about his DUST mod?

I have been watching some playthroughs on YouTube and its hard to tell if its really fun or pull-you-hair-out rage inducing. It is clear from the updates that Naugrim wants his mod to be hard. But at times it seems broken. How does it compare to DUST? I loved DUST personally. I found the lore, story, locations, enemies and locations to be creepy, harsh, terrifying and most importantly fun! For those who have played both, how does the balancing, lore, story and difficulty compare (obviously they are different games but still) to each other.

I am currently looking for a reason to get back into Fallout 4 after the disappointment of Nuka World. I have not touched in since I left for college and training and I would like to maybe play some before I go back. If anyone is wondering who's playthrouhs I have watched, it was KottaboseGames and Alchestbreach.

tl;dr Why do you love or hate FROST and how does it compare to DUST?

_________________
swiggitty swooty I'm coming for that booty
                                               -George Washington
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Corvo

avatar

Posts : 966
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Dreamscape

Character sheet
Name: Corvo
Faction:
Level: Colonial

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:34 am

I voted for DUST because I have not yet played FROST as I don't play Fallout 4 too often anymore. My opinion may change if I play it of course, but for now I'm voting for DUST.

Also, does FROST really tie into the story? I know DUST is the aftermath of the Elijah ending in Dead Money but I can't really think of anything in Fallout 4's story like that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ
mpaz96

avatar

Posts : 1534
Join date : 2014-08-12
Age : 21
Location : Colombia

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:21 am

Both are incredible but I like DUST more for two reasons. One is that DUST, unlike FROST, is already finished and has every DLC implemented into the DUST lore. And second is that in DUST you have a purpose that is escaping the mojave while in FROST there is some sort of "quest" I never got why would the main character go through all that when he didn't need to.

Overall, even though I like DUST better I would still recommend FROST very much!!!

@Corvo I mean, I guess it does relate to the Fallout 4 lore, at least regarding the railroad.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
stoobygacks

avatar

Posts : 298
Join date : 2015-05-14
Age : 97
Location : I'm not that old, I wish I was.

Character sheet
Name: Pvt. Cooper
Faction: New California Republic
Level: 4

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:56 am

@Corvo
Slight Spoilers Beyond This Point:
 


@mpaz96 Overall I agree that DUST felt like it had more of a purpose of escape, and not a note quest/blind scavenger hunt for notes. I forgot to mention and you most likely know as well that FROST is still in development so we might see more refined story and better polished balancing.

_________________
swiggitty swooty I'm coming for that booty
                                               -George Washington
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Linteater

avatar

Posts : 36
Join date : 2017-06-25

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:30 am

I didn't vote for either, because I haven't played Dust so I cannot compare the experiences. From playing Frost, I do feel it has loads of potential IF it is developed more and expanded on the post-bombing environment. As it is now, it's a fun experience to play through a few times, but feels more like a baseline or framework for something greater. Coming from survival mode in FO4, I enjoyed the difficulty, although it is a rather large jump up from vanilla survival. Ratcheting up the hardness does change the gameplay, as players that tend to be more patient and sneaky will live alot longer than those who charge in. I am excited to see where this mod is going to go, and cannot wait to see more features and content.

If you are looking at Frost as a reason to get back into Fallout 4, I would err on the side of caution and not recommend it. As I have stated previously, it is extremely challenging and can be frustrating. It also needs more development to be a more worthwhile mod, as there isn't alot of meat and bones to it yet other than "survive". It is a different experience, but if you are simply looking at a survival overhaul, I would point you towards the Horizon mod instead, but both are definitely worth a shot.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chromesthesia

avatar

Posts : 116
Join date : 2015-05-23
Age : 19
Location : Wales

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:00 pm

I loved Dust, really gave life to New Vegas after I got bored of it. Frost is no exception its just like already stated it doesn't really give you a purpose.

Dust was escape. You had an end goal to reach, but survive in Frosts terms? I didn't really see that as a perfect end goal because you'd never really reach the 'end' of surviving if you get me.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TitanTheDirewolf

avatar

Posts : 149
Join date : 2016-06-19
Age : 16
Location : The United Kingdom

Character sheet
Name: Character
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:40 pm

I'm not going to go too indepth on this one, as I feel like I'd just be repeating the points others have already made but, as a player of both my favourite is DUST, mainly due to the whole aspect of it, the purpose, and that was what really gave DUST its flavour.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
xxitsapotatoxx

avatar

Posts : 49
Join date : 2016-01-16
Location : Nebraska

Character sheet
Name: Noah
Faction: NCR
Level: 30

PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:10 am

stoobygacks wrote:
The question is simple I suppose. What does GUN think about Naugrim's FROST mod? What about his DUST mod?

I have been watching some playthroughs on YouTube and its hard to tell if its really fun or pull-you-hair-out rage inducing. It is clear from the updates that Naugrim wants his mod to be hard. But at times it seems broken. How does it compare to DUST? I loved DUST personally. I found the lore, story, locations, enemies and locations to be creepy, harsh, terrifying and most importantly fun! For those who have played both, how does the balancing, lore, story and difficulty compare (obviously they are different games but still) to each other.

I am currently looking for a reason to get back into Fallout 4 after the disappointment of Nuka World. I have not touched in since I left for college and training and I would like to maybe play some before I go back. If anyone is wondering who's playthrouhs I have watched, it was KottaboseGames and Alchestbreach.

tl;dr Why do you love or hate FROST and how does it compare to DUST?

I loved Dust and I really is a good Explanation on what would happen if the tunnelers came to the Mojave

_________________
"Down at the end of the hall is BALL storage. For jocks who like BALLS, like RICHIE MARCUS. Do you hear me, Betsy? RICHIE likes BALLS." - Dr. Principal Borous
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]   

Back to top Go down
 

What is the GUN's opinion on FROST? [Poll included!]

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» TERA opinion
» Frost Blades/Axes; Relic blades, Glaive Ecarmines, etc.
» Jack Frost (no not the one in fairy tales)
» Malekith, Dark Elves and Frost Giants
» Opinion on Rules / Avis sur Règles

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-