Gaming Underground Network

Come for the Mods, Stay for the Community!
 
HomeCalendarFAQMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Info Panel
________________
FO MOD MASTER THREAD
TES MOD MASTER THREAD

________________


________________
_
June 2017
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
CalendarCalendar

Share | 
 

 Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:55 am

One thing I really like in Fallout 4 is the way in which the weapons feel and how combat is much more refined. However, there is one thing that really annoys me and that is the fact that enemies now become bullet sponges and it kind of breaks the flow of any battle when you have to soak so much damage into one enemy.

What are your thoughts on the combat in Fallout 4. Slightly off-topic here but do you know of any mod that actually makes enemies not bullet sponges? A combat overhaul perhaps?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZioCru

avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2016-12-19
Age : 21
Location : Roma

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:10 am

IMO the combat feel good almost like an FPS/TPS except for some enemy who you have to shoot a lot.. Really a lot but with mod everythings can be adjusted

For the mod that you ask maybe try this PLUNDER but i haven't downloaded so i can't assure you nothing

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:01 pm

Thanks for the Suggestion, I'll definitely take a look at plunder Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Y0ungRe13el

avatar

Posts : 114
Join date : 2015-11-06
Age : 17
Location : Somewhere there

Character sheet
Name:
Faction:
Level:

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:39 pm

Combat in FO4 can be one of the best in the series. This is because of the much more refined gunplay and, of course, the essential grenade button. Its like I don't have to go into VATS every fight. Although AI isn't the best, it's still better than ever for a Bethesda game.

I do agree that most enemies feel like they need 50 bullets in the head to die, that's why i use Better Locational Damage, which makes killing enemies much faster, but it also goes for your PC. You should also check out the author other mods which compliments Better Locational Damage. Another great combat mod is Arbitration which improves enemy AI so that they don't always go and melee you when you they have a gun, or run directly into your line of fire.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Napara

avatar

Posts : 41
Join date : 2015-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:43 pm

To me the animations across the board feel goofy-floaty, while previous Bethesda games had more of a grounded feel to it (at least with my mod loadout(s). I'm also not a fan of the recoil system, (especially with automatic weapons) where the camera will move up and up the screen until you stop firing. It reminds me of the combat in Oblivion where the game takes control away from you when you get hit by a power attack. I'm not against a recoil system but, it wasn't for me,

The melee combat is a big step back from Skyrim, it never feels smooth, it feels a bit more forceful but not in a good way, it makes melee combat unfeasible to be. Blocking has also become a toggle and not a "stance" which I also dislike.

TLDR - Fallout 4's combat gives me a headache.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Constable Canada

avatar

Posts : 729
Join date : 2015-03-04
Age : 20
Location : Shoveling my driveway for the upteenth time

Character sheet
Name: Johnny S
Faction: Lewd Krew
Level: 69 or 99

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:42 am

Aside from the enemies being bullet sponges, I really enjoy the combat. Oh you have a sniper rifle and a raider is up in your face? Just stab the bastard with your bayonet or do a takedown move and just kick out his kneecap.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Havoc

avatar

Posts : 687
Join date : 2014-02-24
Age : 22
Location : Norway

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:51 am

i really like the combat and the feel the weapons have, yes some enemies are bullet sponges but i dont really mind that, its so normal in games these days

_________________
If you have some questions regarding one of my screens fell free to send me a message Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GhostCR0

avatar

Posts : 103
Join date : 2014-04-16
Age : 19

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:08 am

Combat in Fo4 is so far the best in the series (and I just mean Fo3/Fnv not original games).It's a huge improvment in gunplay and animations it feels natural as opposed to Fo3/Fnv where they are stiff. I only hope that they will improve it in future.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bearkingboy

avatar

Posts : 60
Join date : 2016-09-28
Age : 21
Location : Naria

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:03 am

The combat in the game isn't bad. It depends on your level. I kinda screw my game up when I installed the modern firearm. The enemies would have the automatic rifle with 100+damage which can melt you in few seconds. closed eyes smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:08 am

Yeah I pretty much agree with most of the opinions especially about VATS, haven't actually used VATS in Fallout 4, and the grenade button is a nice addition too. Especially now that VATS in Fallout 4, for me isn't the crutch it used to be in 3/NV, mainly because of the combat has been improved in 4.

Anyway thanks for the opinions!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AmaekilShath

avatar

Posts : 421
Join date : 2015-03-22
Age : 32
Location : Mt Oxact

Character sheet
Name: Nefandi Oxt
Faction: S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
Level: 66

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:18 pm

Have used a few of the aforementioned mods and a few others but then come across this recently...

Horizon - Survival Mode Expanded

...and oh my!

Much more then just a combat overhaul or what have you:

(copied from the HUUUUGE description)

Massive overhaul and rebalance of many gameplay elements: Stats, NPC's, items, perks, loot, etc.
Survival and combat is more challenging without feeling bloated
Most perks have been rebalanced, and some are completely redesigned
The loot system has been revamped, reducing the overabundance of rare items and materials
Many new items and loot changes make looting containers and NPC's more immersive
A brand new settlement progression system, that has goals/rewards for settlement builders
New crafted items and components for medical supplies, utilities, and more
New settlement objects: defenses, vendors, decorations, and a new type of crafting station
New carry weight bonuses that can be crafted based on your allies and skills
New fast travel system built for survival mode
Many various minor tweaks and bug fixes
Inventory sorting (with optional DEF_UI config)
Optional screen effect tweaks
Full support for all DLC's

Having just started a new game recently with the intention of completing Nuka World first and THEN meeting up with the MinuteMen I have to say, it's keeping me on my toes combat wise, no sponges in my Commonwealth!

_________________
"From the uncertainties the god-mind knows and from the nothingness all the wines flow..."
MY MODS
The Rebel Tex-Edits The Mercenary Tex-Edits Reacher Tex-Edits Scavenged NCR Tex-Edits
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZioCru

avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2016-12-19
Age : 21
Location : Roma

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:20 pm

@AmaekilShath kinda interesting! I have to try it for sure

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:55 pm

@AmaekilShath this actually looks really interesting, I'll try it out.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AmaekilShath

avatar

Posts : 421
Join date : 2015-03-22
Age : 32
Location : Mt Oxact

Character sheet
Name: Nefandi Oxt
Faction: S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
Level: 66

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:03 pm

Yeah it's immense! Barely scratched the surface even after 10 hours of playing!

_________________
"From the uncertainties the god-mind knows and from the nothingness all the wines flow..."
MY MODS
The Rebel Tex-Edits The Mercenary Tex-Edits Reacher Tex-Edits Scavenged NCR Tex-Edits
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Scorpio9

avatar

Posts : 226
Join date : 2014-07-30
Age : 27
Location : Croatia

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:02 pm

Generally combat system is below average and there is whole set of systems holding it back.

Controls are... hardcoded (read atrocious). There no TOGGLE AIM, grenade and melee are on the same key, you can't you rebind all keys to your liking.

Enemies generally lack variety and their Ai is ridiculously stupid. Example all humanoid factions are the same there is no difference between: gunners, raiders, BoS, *enter faction name here*. They will always shoot and run towards you, only difference is equipment and faction name. Why didn't they just copy Doom base enemy Ai type (mirror, pin and flank player) and than expand on it.

Than there is whole leveling system and leveled lists with health regeneration and weird locational damage that make this game generally unplayable for me.

Animations and camera are also below average, third person is unplayable compared to first person, and even first person has it's share of problems main one being that weapons take to large portion of screen. Melee... I don't want to talk about it... it's staggering!

There is alot of big overhaul mods I used: Better Locational Damage, Better Explosives, Better Perks, Better Power Armor (all from same author). They work really well and are compatible with each other, on top of them I would add "quality of life mods" like See-Through Combat Scopes, lowered weapons and so on.



_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:14 pm

Talking about lowered weapons, the one thing that did annoy me is the fact that when you holster your weapons they do not appear anywhere on the body. No idea why they removed that, I'll never understand.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ZioCru

avatar

Posts : 44
Join date : 2016-12-19
Age : 21
Location : Roma

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:41 pm

@KillerReaver even for that the mods are here for you!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
KillerReaver

avatar

Posts : 21
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 20
Location : Ireland

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:16 pm

@ZioCru I've got the holstered and lowered weapon mods TongueTril I Just don't understand why it wasn't included in the base game.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Irokos

avatar

Posts : 8
Join date : 2016-12-28

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:50 pm

@KillerReaver Probably because some of them would clip awfully through your body since they seem to have made a lot of chunky bulky weapons in this game in addition to the layered armor system. Also with how many attachments you could add to weapons it would cause even more clipping.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AmaekilShath

avatar

Posts : 421
Join date : 2015-03-22
Age : 32
Location : Mt Oxact

Character sheet
Name: Nefandi Oxt
Faction: S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
Level: 66

PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:25 am

Just come across this if you like the idea of having a more, zombie apocalypse type affair...

Zombie Walkers

_________________
"From the uncertainties the god-mind knows and from the nothingness all the wines flow..."
MY MODS
The Rebel Tex-Edits The Mercenary Tex-Edits Reacher Tex-Edits Scavenged NCR Tex-Edits
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?   

Back to top Go down
 

Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

 Similar topics

-
» Combat in Fallout 4. Opinions?
» Fallout 4 Ending Discussion (MAJOR SPOILERS)
» Fallout 4 Combat system
» Fallout 4 Melee/Unarmed combat
» Will we see the the Ranger Combat Armor in Fallout 4?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gaming Underground Network :: Fallout :: Discussion-