Info Panel

Calendar Calendar

Body Meshes for Companion doesn't appear in G.E.C.K. nor in-game.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Body Meshes for Companion doesn't appear in G.E.C.K. nor in-game.

Post by iEastsidezzz on Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:39 am

Now that I'm done with porting weapons for a while, I thought it would be a great idea to bring Lucario over from Super Smash Brother Brawl and have him become a Companion in the world of Fallout: New Vegas.

Initially, I thought it would be a good idea to start with using a creature mesh as a template, but I just went ahead and used the "UpperBody" mesh of a Human NPC.

Let me just say that I have no prior experience with modding/rigging armors or anything related to bodies. But I went ahead and copied the NiTriShapeData of my custom mesh and paste it over the vanilla mesh; much like you do with creating a weapon out of a custom mesh. I also took the liberty of creating other "NiTriShape" branches out of the vanilla branch. At first, I thought this was a good place to start..

So I'll post some pics here so you can see my node branches and what not...

Lucario's Body:

Lucario's Head:

As far as the eyes go, I'm not so concerned with having movable eyes at this point, so I just went ahead and added it to the head mesh.

And I'm not worried about any mouth/teeth/tongue movements, because to my knowledge, I believe Lucario speaks telepathically.

Once I was done with that, I created a folder in Textures and Meshes...added the textures and Nifs...just like you always do. Then I went into G.E.C.K and created a new Race and linked all the Nif files I made. When I added them, this happened:

Spoiler:

So the meshes didn't appear in G.E.C.K.'s rending screen, nor does anything appear in-game.  I'm pretty sure I missed something huge that was procedural.

So when it comes to what I'm trying to do, what did I do wrong? ( I'm sure a good bit of things).